Skip to content

California Egress

December 9, 2022

I’m getting pretty good at the “Top Ten things I will Miss About <place where we live>” list. I pivoted a little for today’s list. We’ve managed to do a fair amount of touristing while here in LA, but we’ve also been more stay-at-home than during non pandemic times and there are some things I want to do before we head back to the midwest.

Top 10 Things I Want to do Before Leaving La La Land

10 – Go to Disneyland! (Oh wait we did that.)

9 – Eat more Mexican food. We don’t eat out very often (other than pizza Friday) and so we haven’t really taken advantage of all of the great taquerias and restaurante in Los Angeles. There are two places within walking distance and one of them is pretty decent, but I know we can find better. You might not believe me but, there are a few good Mexican places in Saint Paul, MN so I am not too concerned about this one – still it seems like we should eat enchiladas while the sol shines.

8 – Take the Metro. When we lived here in the 90’s there was no public transportation other than the bus. I am curious to see how the metro here compares to Tokyo and NYC. Mostly I would hate to complain about how bad it is without riding it at least once.

7 – Eat more Japanese food. There are Japanese restaurants I like in the Twin Cities, but none of them are as good as our favorite places in LA. We have a sushi restaurant within walking distance of our house that is as good or better than anything in MN. Shocking, I know.

6 – Look at some really tall trees.

5 – Eat some Bert and Rockie’s Cream Cheese Chip. We’ve visited the shop in Claremont a couple times since we got here, but they have not had this unforgettable flavor in stock. We might have to just keep calling them and when they have some in the freezer we can jump in the car.

4 – Run into more celebrities. I was sure that by now I would run into Wil Wheaton walking his dog around the Rose Bowl or bump into Paula Poundstone at the grocery store.

3 – Appear on a game show. All of the studios are out here in LA. I can just show up and get on Jeopardy, right?

2 – See the Pacific Ocean as many times as we can fit in. Lake Superior is nice and all, but it isn’t quite the same.

1 – See each of my California friends as many times as possible. I could have done a top ten list that was just listing all the people we want to visit with, but to make it funny I would have had to mock my friends. I prefer to do that in person.

No comments yet

Leave a comment