Skip to content

I’m Not Just Foolin’

April 1, 2011

I’ve held on to some news about the blog for a few weeks now. If you’ve watched the blog grow from the beginning you know that I have always been  a fan of Hell’s Kitchen and the cooking of Mitch Omer. This has not gone unnoticed by people in the industry and shortly before I left on vacation I was contacted by Cyn Gerdes about helping out with their social media presence.  A lot of the details need to be worked out still, but initially I have been contracted to be the online voice of Hell’s Kitchen. As a part of this arrangement they will be acquiring the Mike/Mitch Project website and all the content. In addition to monetary compensation (which took more haggling than you would think) I will be given advance copies of all the new Hellish recipes and kitchen level access at Hell’s Kitchen. Look for the Mike/Mitch project to be tied into Cyn’s weekly Facebook notes and for more blogging on my part about the restaurant instead of just the recipes. I’ll be adding a weekly feature to the blog called Damn Good Servers in which I will interview an employee at Hell’s Kitchen and I may be asked to promote certain specials from time to time. This is a great opportunity for me and it’s really fun to see what this whole thing has become after just starting as a hobby. Wish me Luck.

Damn Good Quote of the Day: We’d like to buy your !@#$%&* blog and have you work for us. – Mitch Omer

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 8:01 pm

    Man, I was all about to say Congratulations on this – but I noticed the April Fools in the comments. I’m a few days late. 🙂

  2. April 3, 2011 2:56 pm

    Fantastic job! Is this restaurant connected to the Fox show?
    Either way, as someone who would like to make a real go of this “hobby’, this is the best blogging news I’ve ever heard.
    Congrats!

    • April 3, 2011 4:09 pm

      As much as it would be fun if this story were true I did post it on April 1st.

      The restaurant is NOT connected to the Fox show in any way. As Mitch would probably tell you they were here first. When the show came out Mitch did apply to be a part of the show, but in the end he proved to be too colorfull a character for mainstream America.

  3. Cyn & Mitch permalink
    April 2, 2011 9:09 am

    OK you literally gave us a HEART ATTACK….Mitch and I do love your idea but when I read this my chair flipped over because i knew nothing of it! Hahaha i do wish we were rich enough to start handing out money to great works like yours but alas, we’re still up to our eyeballs paying off our debts.
    Now for this well-played joke on us, you have to do penance in hell…..we have a red “purgatory” hallway where we’ll make you sit each and every time you come while we walk by with trays of lemon ricotta hotcakes wafting in the air….
    Fondly,
    Cyn and Mitch (Hell’s Kitchen founders)

    • April 2, 2011 11:34 am

      It should be noted that I would probably do something like this for free.

  4. Patti permalink
    April 1, 2011 11:30 pm

    Ever hear about the boy who cried wolf?

  5. April 1, 2011 4:12 pm

    april fool, dear mike!

    • April 1, 2011 9:15 pm

      Busted.

      • April 1, 2011 9:37 pm

        ah but we all believe in you and love your blog. mitch doesn’t know what he’s missing.

  6. April 1, 2011 3:37 pm

    Seriously? I mean, it is April Fools Day and everything…seriously? I am in awe. Congratulations Mike! I’m so happy for you!

  7. Nora permalink
    April 1, 2011 1:54 pm

    Wow! I am so impressed. And just think… I can say I knew you when… that is, when a bag of peanut m&ms in your locker was your idea of food nirvana.

  8. April 1, 2011 1:50 pm

    Wow, Mike. That is uber cool!!!! What fun you will have.

    • April 1, 2011 9:17 pm

      More likely I will want to be your sous writer.

      • April 1, 2011 11:58 pm

        And here I was trying to decide who should play me in the movie. I was leaning towards Rosie O’Donnell or Kathy Bates.

  9. Patti permalink
    April 1, 2011 1:19 pm

    Are you gonna remember your roots now that you’re about to become famous?Really though, congratulations…thrilled for you! You’re cooking for our next big anniversary dinner!

    • April 1, 2011 9:18 pm

      I am still available for weddings and parties, but alas this was all just in fun.

Leave a Reply

