Skip to content

The Big Break Theory

April 1, 2016

BBTI arrived in Los Angeles earlier today. I booked the trip months ago because I am lucky enough to be the Best Man at a friend’s wedding, but the trip has taken on many purposes since then. To begin with I am attending a SQL conference tomorrow in Huntington Beach. It is a SQL Saturday event like ones I’ve attended and presented at all over the midwest and Canada. I am pretty excited to see some old friends and to immerse myself back in SQL a little more than I have been lately. It is no secret that the long term remote work project I was working on when we moved to Japan ended a few months ago and I’ve been filling in my extra time with different things. I’ve been studying Kanji (using the great site WaniKani) and I have been learning some web development with an online course (Complete Web Developer Course 2.0). And I have also been doing some writing. Just for fun I wrote a script for an episode of Big Bang.
It’s full of nerdy science and Star Trek references and maybe there is a new DBA character that has a walk on. It was really just something I thought would be fun after binge watching Big Bang Theory on Japanese Netflix (one thing they have that isn’t available to stream in the United States).

Here’s where it gets interesting.

Joining us on our Japan adventure this year are two of our good friends and their family. Much like us, Will and Chika are playing host to some of their friends from the US who are visiting Japan. Last week they had some friends of theirs from college visiting, Mike and Sarah (easy to remember). By a weird coincidence we’d met them once before when we were all visiting Will and Chika in Washington D.C.  All being together in another capital city seemed to good to pass up so the six of us went out to dinner. We all talked about our lives and since we hadn’t seen each other in ten years we talked about what our kids had done in the last decade. Among their very accomplished sons, Mike and Sarah’s youngest, AJ, has become a child actor. I mentioned my script as a joke and said I could write in a teenage character if they knew anyone important enough.

Turns out they do. Or at least they know someone who knows someone. Which was enough to get me an email address. I sent the script to Bill Prady, one of the writers and executive producers for the show. I can feel the writers out their cringing at this, but I was just excited to be “talking” to someone to worry about anything else. He must have at least glanced at it because he rejected it as “not being a real script”. No surprise since I’ve never written a real script.

But…

But he must have more than glanced at it because he liked one idea I had, about Shledon dreaming of being stranded on Mars (a la The Martian), but he is happy to have the planet to himself and doesn’t try to “Science the S*!t out of it”.

Not sure things would have moved this fast normally, but because I happen to be here this week I am now on the calendar to meet with Bill Prady and Chuck Lorre at CBS, Wednesday morning at 9:30, to discuss them maybe buying the script just so they can use that idea. I feel very much out of my league and I am glad that I’ll be hanging out with a friend who is a lawyer all week.

Wish me luck.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2016 11:37 pm

    Bazinga!

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    April 2, 2016 9:20 pm

    Patti’s quicker than I am. It wasn’t until I woke up in the middle of the night that the date occurred to me.

  3. Aunt Patti permalink
    April 2, 2016 5:52 pm

    Before I run outside and tell all my friends…I’m not putting April Fools Prank out of mind…You are known to do pretty good ones….And the trusting soul I am…I always get caught…waiting to hear the next chapter….

  4. Janet Koplos permalink
    April 2, 2016 11:58 am

    What a kick! THIS is actually quite a story, although I don’t know if it’s a script, either. Gambatte!

Leave a Reply

