Skip to content

This Sucks.

December 19, 2015

SONY DSCThere is a man who I think about almost every day without even realizing it. When I head into my kitchen to cook dinner it’s his voice in my head that guides me to use real lemon juice instead of that fake bottled crap, to add a little more cream or butter, to try creating my own dishes, and in general to just not “Fuck it up” while I am cooking. His name is in the original title of this blog and I just found out he is no longer with us.

Five years ago I started a project to cook all the recipes in Damn Good Food because I liked the food. As I read each recipe and the all the stories about Hell’s Kitchen and about Mitch Omer I started to feel that I knew him a little bit. Then I was lucky enough to get to know him for real and he was just as energetic and chaotic as I had pictured him. He was also generous and friendly. He was generous with gifts (of food usually) and with his advice on cooking. Mitch was good people and I doubt very much I will cross paths with anyone else like him ever again.

Goodbybe, Mitch. You will be missed.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    December 20, 2015 2:13 am

    Sorry to hear about his passing away. He sounded like an amazing man.

  2. Patti K permalink
    December 19, 2015 1:07 pm

    You were the first person I thought of when I read about Mitch. Thank you for bringing him into our lives…never to be forgotten.

Leave a Reply

