Skip to content

Take My Wife, Please Don’t

July 29, 2015
tags:

The alarm went off this morning at 3:50 am. Kira jumped in the shower while I tried to eek out a few more minutes of sleep. I must have managed it because the next thing I remember is the light coming on and a very cheery voice saying, “Didn’t you say you had to get up for something this morning?”

“I think I’m taking someone to the airport. Do you still need a ride?”,  I reply.

I manage to wake up enough to help her and Michael carry the rest of their suitcases out to the van. The van we will only own for about 100 more hours. I load the last bag into the back bringing the total luggage weight up to 199.6 lbs for four bags. One bag is over 50, but Kira is an optimist.

There is no time for breakfast, coffee, or conversation. Kira and Michael said all of their goodbyes the night before so we load into the van and head off for the airport on empty, dark roads.

On the drive there is some chit-chat about tasks still needing to get done and figuring out when we will be able to communicate next. The empty roads mean a quick drive and we get to the airport where I drop them off and they go inside pulling their 200 lbs of worldly goods behind them.

I use the airport return to drive back around and park the car. I park close to the door and get back inside as they get to the front of the check-in line.

Kira’s optimism is well placed and the guy who checks her bags gives a nod and a wink to her 51 lb bag. The bags are checked and moving around the airport gets a lot easier.

A quick kiss for Kira and hug for Michael and then they disappear into the security check.

There is one last smile and wave from Kira and I am overcome with the realness of this new journey. We’ve been talking and planning for so long that it was easy to think of things in the abstract.

She’s actually leaving today. She’s finally on her way to start the next phase of our lives.

And she is smiling.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Joni Corcoran permalink
    July 30, 2015 8:50 am

    Wishing that all goes smoothly on your new adventure!

  2. Kira permalink
    July 29, 2015 4:01 pm

    I was optimistic about the bag, but Michael and I still rearranged a few things when we got to LA and thank goodness we did! I saw dozens of people rearranging bags – their intimate apparel spread out on the airport floor for all to see. The nice lady who checked us in pointed at the scale. The big bag came in at 22.6kg – leaving .4 kg of wiggle room. Whew!

  3. Janet Koplos permalink
    July 29, 2015 3:23 pm

    You can’t help but love that girl! I think she was born smiling. But you know, she cries pretty easily, too. She’s taken on a big responsibility, but I think she’ll make it fun! A game.

  4. Mary Jo permalink
    July 29, 2015 2:56 pm

    Of course she’s smiling. Kira is always smiling. It’s that optimist thing. . .

Leave a comment