Skip to content

All I Want Is a Room Somewhere

July 20, 2015

[Warning: Whining ahead.]

Isn’t everyone an introvert? The de rigueur definition of introverts is someone who gets their energy from spending time alone. But does anyone really say, “Whew, I’m really tired. I’m going to go to a party and talk to people for four hours and I’ll be completely refreshed.” Maybe there are people like that, but don’t we all say things like, “I need some downtime,” “I’m going to relax and recharge my batteries this weekend,” or “Go Away and leave me alone.” (Maybe that last one is just me. See also, “Get off my lawn.”)

I’ve spent the last two weeks on “vacation.” Kira usually plans our vacations because I am lazy and would probably plan nothing and claim that sleeping in until noon for a week and reading a dozen books is a great vacation. (Which it would be.) But, Kira usually plans the vacations and we actually do fun and interesting things. However, unlike myself, she likes other people, which means it is not unusual to spend time with some family and good friends on our trips. And since this was the farewell tour we made it a point to try to see as many people as we could.

I was glad to get a chance to spend time with family and friends before heading off to our next adventure, but it was exhausting. It’s great to finally get back home to my own space.

Or it would be, if I had a home. And my own space. I’m being a little unfair because the room I am in right now is very nice, but it just isn’t the same. I’m looking forward to a couple of weeks from now when I can unpack my suitcase for good and to a few months from now when I know where everything is in the kitchen.

It’s going to be loverly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

