Skip to content

You Picked a Fine Time to Swim Here Loose Seal

July 11, 2015

The house we are staying at in Cape Code is within walking distance to the beach. Until yesterday evening the only person in our family to take advantage of this was Michael.

A group from the house was headed down before dinner to get in one last swim for the day. When they asked if I wanted to come along it just sounded like a lot of work and I was kind of tired. After some internal debate I managed to talk myself into the non-lazy option and I headed down to the beach. After just a couple of minutes walking I could see the ocean and I realized how stupid I had been to consider not going. Here is some free advice – when you are staying close enough to the ocean that you can walk to get there you should go to see the ocean.

After a 10 minute walk we reached the beach. Michael and his cousins staked a spot with their towels and headed for the water. I contemplated a nap on the beach. After all I had made it further than any of the girls in the family so I was ahead of the game. Then I saw all the kids tip-toeing into the ocean trying to slowly adapt to the 60° water. I couldn’t watch it for very long before I had to run down and dive into the ocean to show them how it should be done. I hadn’t accounted for the layer of rocks under the water, but their reaction was worth some bruised feet.

It was late evening but the sun was still warm. We all spent at least an hour swimming in the cold water trying to catch and boogie board or body surf on the breaking waves without getting pushed into the rocky beach.

I think Michael would have stayed until the sun went down, but I was getting hungry. I asked who wanted to head back with me to get some dinner and at that moment a seal bobbed up about 10 feet from where the kids were swimming. They’ve been told it can be dangerous to swim with the seals so everyone quickly decided it might be a good time to be done.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Patti permalink
    July 11, 2015 10:10 am

    You been watching Shark Week too? Not a good idea if you’re near the ocean…

Leave a Reply

