Skip to content

American Traditions

July 4, 2015

I feel like I am already starting every post with, “I am too tired to blog tonight.” But, I’ve been blogging long enough now that I have looped on our July 4th tradition of hiking along Minnehaha creek. And if it was good enough four years ago I think I am OK to use the excuse of being hot and tired on the 4th of July. So, I’m going to copy my past self and just add a couple of pictures. One showing the falls and another showing ice cream. We’ll have to find a waterfall in Tokyo for our hike next year. 

WP_20150704_008

 

Also, other random things that happened today:

Kira’s mom came with us on the hike this year.

Sarah fell off a log she was trying to traverse after getting off the beaten path. She was fine.

The park and the trail were more crowded this year than ever before. Not sure why, but my best theory was that people got tired of all the road construction and just ended up pulling over and stopping here.

We christened my mother-in-law’s new deck by grilling some brats and had homemade strawberry short-cake for dessert.

The kids and their cousins all ran around like crazy with sparklers to celebrate the 4th of July. [run around like crazy = calmly watched them sparkle with awe]

Michael and his cousin came to blows over a very cool stick they found in the yard.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2015 7:34 am

    I’m fixated on that shake…

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    July 4, 2015 9:49 pm

    The whole day was a real piece of Americana. Store it up.

Leave a Reply

