Skip to content

Lots of Lasts

June 26, 2015

Camping08 067These days in our lives “last” or “the last time” is shorthand for “the last time I will do this before I leave the United States and possibly ever again.”

We are racking up lots of lasts these days.

For instance this morning was the last time I get up at 4:45 AM to take my wife to the airport.

Today is Michael’s last swimming lesson.

A couple of weeks ago I went on my last bike ride.

The family had brunch at Hell’s Kitchen for the last time on Father’s Day, which was out last Father’s Day.

I took my last nap on the couch.

We watched the last episode of Daredevil.

The kids each mowed the lawn for the last time.

We’ve grilled brats on the grill four last times and counting.

Michael is meeting up with friends tonight to play Pathfinder for the last time (in person).

We are in the country for another 40 days and 40 nights so there are more lasts to come, but the last most on my mind right now is this one. We leave today for our last Daddy/Daughter Camping. Every year since 2000 my daughters and I have been meeting up with my friend Rob and his daughters. I will be putting the camping gear in storage after this trip and we won’t be in the US next summer, but I’m going to say it here first:

Daddy Daughter 20th Camping Reunion  in 2019!

 

Kanji of the Day: 父     ちち     chichi     father     –     お父さん     おとうさん     otousan     father

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

