Skip to content

Maybe I’ll Work on My Novel

June 24, 2015

When I share the news of my wife getting a job in Tokyo the question that comes up after a few minutes of conversation is , “So, what are you going to do?” For a while this answer changed depending on the day of the week. It was one of our first concerns as well and my reaction in the begging was, “I’ll figure something out.”

Thanks to Microsoft and SQL Server I have a skill set that is pretty employable here in the good ol’ US of A. This has given me a slightly skewed view of the work involved in finding a job. I started looking as I would normally if I wanted to change jobs and quickly realized that my lack on Nihongo was going to be a big stumbling block. I was looking at this pretty early on, months before Kira was offered her job at MST, so I knew we had to have a plan going in. I came up with something that is still pretty much, “I’ll figure something out,” but with a plan B. In the absolute worst case that I can’t find employment in Tokyo or continue to work remotely for American clients I will just come back. It wasn’t a great option, but it meant that we could keep moving forward with the what-if/this-is-probably-going-to-happen. I know it is early in this blogging stint to break out the top ten list, but really this topic cries out for one.

Top 10 Plans for Mike in Tokyo

  • 10 – Learn Ruby on Rails from the Viking Code School and start my own web development consultancy
  • 9 – Teach English (it’s only funny if you actually picture me doing this.)
  • 8 – Binge watch every episode of Babylon 5
  • 7 – Finally figure out how the heck Pachinko works. As far as I can tell it’s just balls falling into a tray.
  • 6 – Train for the 2016 Fuji Mountain Race, because I’ve climbed Fuji-san twice, but I’ve never run up it.
  • 5 – Nap.
  • 4 – Train to be a Ramen chef under a tyrannical Japanese master
  • 3 – Write an award-winning blog about moving to Japan
  • 2 – Start a bilingual SQL Server User Group (Chapter of PASS) in Tokyo
  • 1 – Open Hell’s Kitchen East, altering all the HK recipes to use ingredients local to Japan like Salmon Wasabi Benedict, Lemon-Ricotta Okonomiyaki, and Yakisoba Ranchero

hmmm…I thought that would be funnier. Maybe it was too soon to break out the top ten list.

Kanji of the Day:

eki

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janet Koplos permalink
    June 24, 2015 8:25 am

    I think #1 is hysterical! But in your list you don’t actually include working on a novel (sci-fi, I presume?).

Leave a Reply

