Skip to content

R is for Radicchio, S is for Squash

March 16, 2014

r1 It’s been a busy couple of weeks and I considered skipping the blog all together, but I have still been cooking by the alphabet. Rather than go through two weeks of cooking I will just pick the best recipe from each week. For Radicchio this was hands down the Butternut Squash and Radicchio Pappardelle. This recipe really surprised me. It only has six ingredients and the hardest part was carving up the squash.  In the other dishes the radicchio was a little bitter, but in this one I think the sautéing and combining it with the butternut squash worked well. Add in some toasted pine nuts and it was delicious.

It was just a coincidence that my favorite recipe from R week had squash in it, but it id make Squash an easy choice for S (Spinach, Sweet Potatoes and Shallots were some of the other contenders). Yesterday I had a lot of fun cooking Ratatoulle using Tom Hudgens recipe from Commonsense Kitchen, which uses summer squash as an ingredient. I served it over noodles made with butternut squash for even more squash, but I think for flavor my favorite meal was the Butternut Squash Risotto using a recipe from the Spoonriver cookbook. This was another low ingredient dish that also used pine nuts so I guess I have a limited palate.

sWith all of these tasty dishes and a night out eating fish and chips I didn’t quite make my weight loss goal, but I weigh less than I did two weeks ago so I’ll call it a win.

Other recipes I made this week:

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 29, 2014 6:53 pm

    Nice to see you’re still active, old friend.
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

