Skip to content

K is for Kale

January 16, 2014

k1

Kale. It was the obvious choice.

I started researching recipes for Kale and I knew I was in trouble when none of them sounded good to me. We’ve had several recipes with Kale so far this week and I think my favorite one was the simplest; a salad with baby kale and a raspberry vinaigrette.

The first recipe I wanted to make was kale chips. I pictured salty green chips so tasty that I wouldn’t be able to eat just one. Then I found out that kale chips are just baked leaves. I decided to make something closer to what I first pictured. I found a recipe for kale crackers. As an added bonus the recipe used some of my leftover flaxseed meal.

I broke the kale leaves off the stems, mixed them up in the food processor with the oil, garlic, and salt. Then I mixed in the sesame seeds and milled flaxseed. I baked them for almost an hour. I let them cool, took a bite…and almost spit it back out. Yuch! They tasted like burnt grass.

I thought they might get better as they dried out and got crisper so I took some for lunch the next day. Nope. I hated to waste this much food, but luckily I found an article saying that too much kale can be harmful. So I’m just being safe by throwing these kale crackers in the garbage.

In addition to the crackers and the baby kale salad I’ve also made a sautéed Kale and Corn recipe from the Commonsense Kitchen and tonight I made miso soup with kale in it.

The sautéed Kale was a little bitter on first bite, but it has some crushed red pepper in it that added a good zip. I served it with Ruhlman’s Weekday Coq au Vin recipe.

This is the second time I’ve made the miso soup and it was just as good this time. The kale isn’t really a big part of the soup, but it still counts.

I have two kale recipes left to make this week and I am pretty sure they will taste better than the crackers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2014 6:48 am

    when i was in north carolina last week, i had kale salad three or four times from the grocery store deli. it was delicious. it had blueberries, sunflower seeds, and i can’t remember what else but it was great. i felt quite virtuous, too.

  2. Patti permalink
    January 16, 2014 4:39 am

    Funny. I made kale chips yesterday. Tossed it with olive oil, sprinkled some smoked paprika and salt and baked. I actually thought they were pretty good…but I get the grass reference…after all, they are leaves….but “super food” leaves!

Leave a Reply

