Skip to content

Unboxing Nature

December 12, 2013

WP_20131210_001 Last month after being on the diet for a few weeks I stumbled upon a product called Nature Box. The gimmick is that you sign up and they send you “healthy” snacks once a month. When I was on the website I noticed that one of the snacks contained Flax. The first month is only $10 and if I don’t like it I can cancel.

Sold.

I got my first Nature Box in time for Flax week and it contained 6 snacks (a normal box has five, but the gave me a bonus snack for free.)

In case you are wondering Nom Noms is their word for Sort-of-like-a-cookie-but-not-really. The blueberry nom noms are better than their peanut butter cousin, which kind of surprised me, but they are both not as sweet as you expect a cookie to be. Once I switched my expectation to granola bar instead of cookie they were actually pretty good. I have enjoyed the fig bars, which are more like a cereal bar than a Fig Newton. I have eaten cereal bars as my breakfast since this whole diet thing started so this week I had whole wheat figgy bars for breakfast. The dried pears are about what you would expect. Not as good as a dried apricot, but still sweet and chewy.

But this week is about flax. The way nature box works is that you can choose five snacks or let them send you 5 random snacks. I like the idea of random snacks, but I picked the flax snacks this month on purpose.

Flax Crostini Bites

WP_20131210_003The box arrived last week and each day I have had something for an afternoon snack. On Monday I poured out a quarter of the bag (the serving size on the nutrition facts) and began to crunch away. These little crackers have a fair amount of salt and reminded me a bit of wheat thins – my favorite cracker. I quickly ate the portion I gave myself and snuck a few more. I’d rate this a B- on the Mike savory snack scale, with a warm soft pretzel with spicy mustard being an A and my failed homemade sauerkraut being an F.

As a bonus they made great croutons for the salad I had for lunch today. I could see myself buying these on purpose again and I will finish the bag before the end of the week.

In case you are curious like me, crostini means “little toast” in Italian.

Flax Fortune Coins

WP_20131210_004 On Tuesday I tasted the second flax snack. It was much sweeter than the crostinis and I ate several of them while musing what it was they tasted like. It really reminded me of something, but I couldn’t put my finger on it. Nilla Wafers?..hmmm..a little, but too crunchy. Shortbread cookies? No that wasn’t it.

Then I read the name again. Oh. Right. They tasted exactly like fortune cookies.

Today you will miss something that should be obvious.

Lucky Numbers: 1-2-3-4-5-6

If you want to give it a try I get a kickback if you use this link: Mike gets free snacks!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

