Skip to content

End Scene

May 31, 2012

With only a few hours left to go I think I am safe to say that I made it an entire month with no television. I did watch two movies, but I did not sit on my couch in front of the TV at all. I am not sure how much of an achievement it is because I mostly just shifted my wasting-time-in-front-of-the-TV to wasting-time-reading-a-book.

Whoa, Mike! Reading isn’t wasting time you say. But it kind of is because I thought I would get all sorts of stuff done and by stuff I mean blogging and by blogging I mean SQL blogging. I did do some SQL writing, but nothing like I thought I would. Not even a few percent of what I had planned. Instead I sat on the couch and read a book most evenings. It was different from TV mostly in that it was a lot less social. My family still watched a few shows and in one instance Kira even tried to get me to watch Mad Men with her because it didn’t make sense for her to watch it by herself. I almost gave in and watched it with her, but then I figured at least for the sake of saying I went the entire month that she should just watch it without me.

I think my instincts were right and that a month isn’t really long enough for this experiment. I think No TV for a year could actually change some habits.

Next Month is June and I will hopefully be photo blogging every day (but maybe not).

June is No Words.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2012 8:53 am

    a) reading books is never wasting time, even dumb books
    b) if you ever do this again, you need to change your vow from “no tv” to “no tv except mad men.” or, possibly, in the interests of marital harmony, “no tv except when kira asks.”

    am i doing wrong by leaving a comment, since this is now june and we are all supposed to give up words?

    • June 7, 2012 10:31 am

      The problem with “no tv except when kira asks” is that it is a loop hole and I am very good and using loopholes. She would soon be “asking” me to watch all of Star Trek on Netflix. Maybe Not with words, but with her eyes. I would just be able to tell.

      • June 14, 2012 9:25 pm

        it’s true that kira has very expressive eyes.

Leave a Reply

