Skip to content

To Sleep, Perchance to Dream

March 4, 2012
tags:

My hope is to get more sleep during March so my No Idea this month is No Napping.

Hear me out. While all the cooking last year led to weight gain, all the blogging led to less sleep. I would stay up to get a blog written and usually be up until 11 or midnight trying to come up with one more clever thing to say about Hollandaise sauces. After I wrote my blog post I would stay up and watch TV (snacking the whole time). Before I knew it the clock read 1 or 2 in the morning. 1:30 am was my average bed time last year and the habit stayed with me this year even though I am blogging a lot less.  I’m naturally a night owl so I didn’t really mind, but it was getting a little out of hand. I would be so tired that I took a nap after dinner 2-3 times a week and that would just make me more awake to stay up later.

It was a vicious cycle which has led me to create my No Napping Rules.

  • No Naps.
  • No Caffeine.
  • No Snoozing.
  • No staying up past 11pm.

No naps is probably going to be harder than no snacking was. I really like naps. That sweet feeling as you drift off on the sofa knowing that you are stealing extra sleep. I don’t want to blame the naps, but I know that if I skip the nap on the couch I will have an easier time falling asleep at a reasonable hour. So far it has worked pretty well. I’ve gone to bed well before 11pm the first three days of March and fell asleep before 11 after reading for a bit. Last night I had a slight headache, probably from the lack of caffeine, which only made me want to go to sleep more. the no snoozing is more of a whim than anything else. With all of the extra sleep I am getting my hope is that when the alarm goes off, or with any luck a bit before it goes off, I should be able to get out of bed easily.

I’m reading a book that I really like when I go to bed which helps. As I am falling asleep it also helps me from thinking about how these goals (eating better, getting a decent night sleep) make me sound like an old man. #41feelsmature

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2012 9:49 pm

    This is a brilliant idea– and I would probably do the same, if it weren’t for the massive amounts of homework I have every night. I’m usually at the barn or school until dinner, and I don’t get started working until 8 or 9…. plus I’m a terrible procrastinator D: Even now, I’m eying my incomplete biology homework, 45 pages of The Once and Future King, a double-sided Spanish worksheet on adverbs, and a hefty amount of work for church. And instead I’m rejoicing that Netflix added season six of Doctor Who to instant viewing, and using all my self-control.

    Matt Smith > bacteriophages. Period.

    Best of luck on your quest! Also, I forgot to mention that I nominated you for several awards last week ^.^ http://alohathemuse.wordpress.com/2012/02/25/give-me-a-medal-and-call-me-charlie-sheen/

    • March 5, 2012 9:26 am

      We just finished re-watching all of season 5 last night in anticipation of starting season 6. I will make time for the Doctor even though I have several work projects this month.

  2. March 4, 2012 9:11 pm

    i love naps. and i love coffee. i could not do this.

    • March 5, 2012 9:24 am

      I do love naps, but I had to break the cycle somehow. I am looking forward to my first nap in April. My month of no eating has made me appreciate snacks more than ever so I am hoping for the same effect on the naps.

      I look on coffee more as a fuel than anything. I will drink sludge coffee from the break room and latte’s from a cafe with equal gusto. I am going to miss a certain Doctor Pepper though.

  3. March 4, 2012 8:32 pm

    Naps are wonderful, though I can only get them in on weekends, if I’m lucky. I wish you well with your goal.

  4. Janet Koplos permalink
    March 4, 2012 12:20 pm

    Did you quit caffeine cold-turkey? That would give you a headache for sure. I backed off a tiny bit at a time, and once I was off what I most missed was the sharp taste of Diet Coke (for a while). But it’s great to wake up in the morning and not be desperate for tea so that my brain will function!

    • March 4, 2012 12:40 pm

      I’m more of a cold turkey kind of guy. The headache is gone now so i should be good for now. I drink quite a bit of coffee and soda, but I am going to miss the soda a lot more. I drink coffee mostly because it is free at work.

Leave a Reply

