Skip to content

A Pound of Flesh

February 25, 2012

 

Another week of not eating and all I have to show for it is a one lousy pound.

My downfall this week was pasta. Last Sunday I made my Penne with Peppers and Sausage. I replaced the cup of cream with half-and-half, but it is still a high calorie dish. Then tonight we found ourselves with only one daughter at home. We decided to eat out. We went to the Macaroni Grill and I got another creamy pasta dish (see above), the Penne Rustica.  They probably didn’t use half-and-half. With my new no-eating awareness I noticed that the Macaroni grill has a little “LC” symbol next to dishes that are less than 600 calories. Guess what? That symbol only appeared next to about four items and the most exciting one was a grilled chicken breast.

One good thing about eating out tonight was that we had some time to kill while waiting for a table. We decided to take Sarah shopping to look for a new pair of  shoes. She didn’t have any luck, but I came out of it with a much-needed, new pair of running shoes.  Of course I ran six miles this week and lost a single pound. I ran only two miles last week and lost 2 1/2 pounds. Something seems askew here. The only thing for it is to run even more  next week. I’m going to up the running to 8 miles.

I only have four more days of February, but I’ll probably keep weighing myself once a week. My hope is that I’ve developed some habits that will at least make me think twice before grabbing that second (third?) doughnut. Also, I’m training for the 7K in March and a half marathon in June so my running should increase significantly in the coming months. We’ve had a mild winter here in Minnesnowta, but it is still a little too cold outside most days for running. When spring hits I’ll be running three or four times a week. That should help shed a few pounds.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    February 27, 2012 9:42 am

    I’m lurking again! Be sure to lose enough so you can cook well when we gather in June!

    • February 27, 2012 10:14 am

      Will do. When we meet in June I will have just run a half marathon so I am hoping that I won’t be as focused on the not eating thing.

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    February 26, 2012 10:42 am

    Eating out is pretty much guaranteed to sabotage a diet. Faced with a fast-food lunch, I chose a salad to eat healthy, but all the salads came with cheese, and there was no low-fat dressing option. Grrr. Re your losing “so little,” remember that you have to be short a thousand-some calories to lose a pound. It’s so hard to do!

  3. February 26, 2012 9:14 am

    Remember, muscle weighs more than fat. You may be gaining muscle with the running.

    • February 26, 2012 12:13 pm

      I’ve used that line before, butI don’t think I’ve done enough running for that quite yet.

Leave a Reply

