Skip to content

Less of Me To Love

February 18, 2012

Is there any holiday centered more around chocolate than Valentine’s Day? I thought I was being very clever choosing the short month for my month of dieting, but I forgot about the worship of chocolate that happens on the 14th. My loss this week was only two and a half pounds (5.5 total lost so far).

I could blame the delicious heart-shaped chocolate-espresso torte that my wife made for me, but I know that wasn’t it. Just because each bite was so rich it required a sip of milk to keep eating doesn’t mean it is fattening.  I think the best way to describe the torte would be to say that it was a lot like triple chocolate cheese cake. If that cheesecake was made with butter instead of cheese. However, Kira’s Valentine’s dessert was made with love and as we all know that cancels out any calories.

No, the more likely culprit for limiting my weight loss was the delicious enchiladas I had for dinner tonight. Or maybe it was the second helping of those enchiladas. They were really good and I was hungry after having a late breakfast and no lunch. Plus I ran 2 miles today. I was really hungry. The cold beer and margarita probably didn’t help.

Today’s run is hopefully the start of training for a marathon. My hope is to run the Seattle marathon in November, but I’m still working out the logistics. My next milestone on this marathon journey is the Lucky 7K race on St. Patty’s day. I’m working my way back up to a 7K distance and hope to run a couple of 5K training runs before March 17th. Next week I plan on running 6 miles (2 miles X 3 runs) so maybe that will help with my next visit to the scales. It can’t hurt.

The torte recipe is from the Turf Club at Disney’s Saratoga Springs Resort. It seemed pretty labor intensive, but wow was it good.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 3:31 pm

    Good luck on the weight loss, my friend!

  2. February 24, 2012 7:05 am

    you do not want to lose weight any faster than 2 1/2 pounds in a week. truly. you’re doing great. and that torte looks fabulous.

    the year i needed to lose weight i lost 25 pounds but it took me an entire year to lose it. i started on thanksgiving week (smart, eh? doh!) and finished the following thanksgiving. but it stayed off.

    if you lose too fast, it won’t.

    • February 24, 2012 8:50 am

      But I was hoping to get a great start in February by depriving myself a lot. I can’t keep this up. I am only able to do it now because I know that on March 1st I can eat a whole bag of Oreos. I’m not saying that I WILL eat a bag of Oreos, but, you know, I could if I wanted to.

      mmmm…..Oreos….

      • February 24, 2012 7:16 pm

        when i lived in duluth i used to sit on the front porch and eat an entire sleeve of oreos while reading. and i never gained an ounce. oh, those were the days.

      • February 25, 2012 3:19 pm

        hmmm..I think I need to move to Duluth.

  3. February 21, 2012 10:51 pm

    That torte looks amazing. If there’s a downside to Tim’s cooking it’s that he doesn’t usually do desserts – doesn’t care for them so doesn’t make them. Ah well. I think 2.5 lbs in a week is amazing! I’ve been training too – half marathon in May. It’s tough! LOL

    • February 22, 2012 8:41 am

      Kira is the baker in our house. I love desserts, but baking takes more patience and finesse than I usually can bring to a project. I think she spent most of Sunday making these tortes, but I think it was worth it.

  4. February 19, 2012 7:26 am

    Seriously? 2 1/2 pounds in one week? What an inspiration!

    • February 22, 2012 8:42 am

      Thanks. I don’t know if I’ve ever tracked my weight loss like this before and it seems to be going very slowly.

  5. February 18, 2012 9:56 pm

    Brother (reading over my shoulder): “Maaan, that makes me hungryyyyy….” *moan* “Can we have dessert?”

    Me *shaking head sadly*: “Story of my life, bro. Story of my life.”

Leave a Reply

