Skip to content

Yep.

December 31, 2011

So, it’s “back by popular demand” week/two weeks/time period. And the people have demanded me. Or, at least, my father has. Your friendly neighborhood Melanie here, armed with some junior year wisdom and new-found driving skills, ready to write the penultimate blog post.

For more than a year now, the Mike/Mitch Project has been a part of this family. My dad has already told you all about how his life has changed and I’m sure tomorrow’s post will be full of it, but it has definitely affected my life, too, (as well as everyone else’s). Here are just a few things that have been different in the teenage daughter’s life because of the blog:

Food. Yeah, this one is sort of a given, but just…. YUM! Before this year, I did not appreciate a good hollandaise sauce. And I don’t think there was quite enough butter or cream in my diet. There was a large portion of these recipes that I didn’t even eat, or that I ate a modified version of, due to my semi-vegitarianism, but all-in-all, I have eaten wonderfully this year.

TV.  Every night, my mom, dad, sometimes sister, and I watch TV. We catch up on the latest, or watch old seasons of ER, or just find something on Netflix.  Maybe it only seems different, but there’s been less Mike/Melanie staying-up-til-1 am-TV-watching this year, since someone has to blog every night. This probably seems weird and lame, but it’s definitely been different.

Connections with local celebrities. “Mister Potter…..Our new celebrity.” (Be sure to pause dramatically between each word to get the Alan Rickman Effect.) Basically, Mitch Omer was at my house, which is pretty cool. I even posted on Facebook about it.

Connections with people who are not local celebrities. We’ve had a lot more people over for dinner this year. They all tasted delicious. JK (Rowling)*. But many people have cooked and eaten delicious food at my house. And while I am a bit antisocial, I also like to listen in on the adults while I plot their downfall, so that was a plus. Heck, Unca Tim even flew out from his home in magical pony land to enjoy the final party!

It’s been a hell of a year! Thanks everyone!

*For all not well versed in text-speak, this stands for Just Kidding. And, while I don’t generally like to use this strange, stereotypically teenage language, I do like to use “jk” because then I can turn it into a Harry Potter thing. And Mike is to Mitch as Melanie is to Harry Potter (as well as any fan-made parodies, particularly musicals, particularly those created by one “Team Starkid”).

Damn good dam:

Buh-bye now!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 3:47 pm

    Nicely done.

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    January 2, 2012 8:54 am

    Not fair. JK is me!

  3. December 31, 2011 8:31 am

    We will miss you and your posts

  4. December 31, 2011 7:45 am

    Great post Melanie! I really enjoyed reading it. When are you starting a blog???? Happy New Year to the whole family!

  5. Dad permalink
    December 31, 2011 6:41 am

    IMHO, a post worthy of LOL or mabe even ROTFL! LLAP!

  6. December 31, 2011 1:23 am

    I love starkid… lol

Leave a Reply

