Skip to content

It’s a Wonderful Blog

December 25, 2011

Often when I talk about the blog (and trust me, I talk about the blog often) I will bring up the interactions I have had with people. There is along list of great people I have met or gotten to know better just from taking on this project. It is a point I have made several times, but it is one that still rattles around my brain as things are coming to the bloggin end. While I think there is a connection people have with food and socializing I also believe that it wasn’t just the cooking or even the blogging that brought me closer to people during 2012. I think it was just doing things out of my normal routine and living life mindfully. Maybe that is a trite phrase, but the Mike/Mitch project forced me to plan out interactions and to do things rather than just read about things, think about things, or (worst of all) watch things happen on TV. I suppose this is a simple realization, but most of the important ones are, right?

There is a ripple effect happening here too, because I know of at least one other person who plans on doing something similar next year and I think that is pretty cool. Also my daughter Sarah has started a blog of her own as a vehicle for her amazing writing and I think that is super cool. (I forgot to ask her if it was OK to share so I am not going to add a link just yet, but I’ll check with her tomorrow.)

The other thing I keep thinking about as I get close to the end is, “What’s Next?” I have complained about people asking me this question, but in reality I find it flattering that people are interested and I am pretty sure I will be a little bored if I don’t come up with something. I am playing with a lot of ideas, but the one constant is that I will not be blogging in January of 2012. I will however be cooking because I got a couple new cookbooks for Christmas and some great new tools for my kitchen. I also have a home brewing starter kit that I hope to spend some time with. By the time it is ready for consumption I should have next year’s blog figured out.

As long as I am being sappy and serious I’d like to wish everyone one last Merry Christmas! I hope your day was as relaxing and joy filled as mine.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2012 8:04 am

    the Mike/Mitch project forced me to plan out interactions and to do things rather than just read about things, think about things, or (worst of all) watch things happen on TV.

    This is exactly why I want to encourage Tim to do something similar! He so often reads cookbooks/watches cooking shows…..but does not actually DO things as much as (I think) he should! He started yesterday………haven’t blogged yet. We’re going to have to take things a little more slowly than you (the twins slow things up a bit sometimes). They can’t help in the kitchen as much as I’d like. LOL

  2. December 26, 2011 8:31 pm

    Merry Christmas and enjoy whatever you plan for yourself in 2012!

  3. Janet Koplos permalink
    December 26, 2011 3:43 pm

    As I was just telling Kira on the phone–I also think the Mike/Mitch Project was an important example for your kids. Even if they didn’t eat everything you made, you exposed them to a greater variety and set an example by trying things that were new to you. And equally important is that you set a goal for yourself–a project bigger than you realized, right?–and you stuck with it to the end. Model behavior for a parent! I also think it’s great that you’ve long thought about writing, and you practiced it this year. Add to that your humor and creativity. I enjoyed cooking with you (better than talking politics!!!).

  4. December 26, 2011 9:56 am

    It’s been a wonderful year getting to know you Mike. I look forward to you returning after January and hearing about your next project. Have a Happy, Prosperous New Year!

Leave a Reply

