Skip to content

Back By Popular Demand

December 21, 2011

Tonight I made Parmesan-Crusted Grilled Cheese for dinner. It was delicious.

I had this great idea to make my favorite recipes again and blog about it, but in retrospect it seems problematic. I already wrote about grilled cheese and this experience was pretty much like that one. I did up the ante a little by serving sweet potato fries with Chipotle Mayo as side.

I observed as I was serving the sandwiches for dinner that if I really want to be good at making fried sandwiches I need to make them about 20-100 more times. Each sandwich was a little different. I burnt one slightly, another had cheese in the middle that didn’t come close to melting. Don’t get me wrong they still tasted great and were eaten up, but I could tell while cooking that I needed more practice if I wanted to learn how to fry them and tell when they are done. The electric stove doesn’t help on this either. I’ve managed to make it work for all of the recipes this year, but a gas stove gives better control over the heat.

I am probably going to push through and cook some of my favorites, but don’t be too surprised if the blog posts are just a picture with the caption, “Yum!”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Koplos permalink
    December 22, 2011 8:05 pm

    Spoke too soon. When I posted my comment the picture finally appeared. But the picture does not look yummy. What happened?

    • December 22, 2011 9:19 pm

      This is what we in the biz call an action shot. I am cooking the grilled cheese in butter. You cook them open face so the cheese melts more.

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    December 22, 2011 8:03 pm

    Or the word without the picture, as in this case?

  3. December 22, 2011 7:54 am

    fried cheese sandwiches is totally crossing the chili line.

  4. December 21, 2011 8:17 pm

    Kira, darnit! My original, briliant, hilarious comment would have been,

    “I’ll probably comment on all of these posts, but don’t be too surprised if it’s just me saying “Yum”.”

    Well, yeah. That sounds really good, and I broke my rule and read your post before dinner, so now I’m starving. Gotta go find food. Thx.

  5. Kira permalink
    December 21, 2011 8:08 pm

    Yum!

Leave a Reply

