Skip to content

It Should Come As No Surprise

December 20, 2011

I recently went through Damn Good Food and calculated all the ingredients I used this year to cook the 157 recipes. I made some things twice and some sub recipes many times and I used my memory to figure some of that out. So what I am saying is that results may vary. The two ingredients that I used the most I decided to leave off because they are usually discarded and are more of a cooking vehicle than an ingredient. I am talking about the 12 gallons of water that I used to brine turkey and beef, boil noodles, and poach eggs. And the 8 quarts of peanut oil I used to deep fry crab cakes and walleye. When the list came together I liked the fact that it was all the basic ingredients. It’s the little flashes of cayenne or thyme that make a recipe unique and tasty, but you can’t make anything without the basic ingredients.

Top 10 Ingredients Used in the Mike/Mitch project

10 – Black Pepper (1 and 1/2 cups)  In the beginning I ground it from peppercorns, but that got old so I finally bought some ground pepper and didn’t notice a decrease in quality.

9 – Kosher Salt (2 and 1/4 cups) I know I used more than this because I emptied my container, but I cooked things outside of Damn Good Food this year as well.

8 – Garlic (3 and 1/2 cups / about 125 cloves). My rule in cooking even before I started the Mike/Mitch project is that you can never have too much garlic.

7 – Fresh Lemon Juice (5 and 1/4 cups). This doesn’t sound like a lot , but much like the salt and pepper this was just a bit each time so I was a little surprised it came to over five cups or about 30 lemons.

6 – White Onion (9 cups / about 20 onions). Which might help explain why I was always crying in the kitchen. It had nothing to do with my Hollandaise sauce.

5- Heavy Cream (20 and 3/4 cups) This number actually seems low.

4 – Sugar (26 cups). This one surprised me more than any of the others. There are a couple cakes which helped it be such a high number, but there were a lot of recipes with 1/3 cup or 1/4 cup of sugar. No wonder it all tasted so good.

3 – All-purpose Flour (43 and 1/2 cups). And this doesn’t include the flour that was all over the table and flour when I rolled out bread or noodles.

2 – Eggs (200) It might have been cheaper to buy a chicken.

and the number one ingredient I used this year was

1 – Butter (50 and 3/4 cups / about 13 pounds)  All I can say is yum.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2011 7:40 am

    Paula Dean should be calling you any day now to convince you to do her cookbook. Y’all know how she loves her butter! 🙂

  2. December 20, 2011 7:45 am

    first of all #10 – I understand Tim likes to do things the hard way but I have tried to convince him for years that he just needs to buy some Damn pepper that’s already ground.
    This is quite the list! I have a question for you……did the cookbook include any desserts or drinks as recipes? And did you do them? I think Tim has decided on a cookbook! He’s in the process of organizing now……and then I’m going to help him blog about it starting in the new year! But not every day. 🙂
    Another question: is a relief to be done and just have to blog? Or is this harder now that you don’t have a recipe to blog about?

    • December 20, 2011 8:34 am

      To answer the first question, yes, there were desserts and drinks and I did every recipe in the book.

      There were plenty of weeks during the year where I didn’t cook a recipe from the book, but I usually had a reason or a good theme. I have wondered for a while what I would blog about for these past few weeks, but it hasn’t been any worse (or better) than much of the blogging has been. I do think I am trying to pick easy blogs because I really am just done with it. If I look at the blog as a story of the project then it is really over and these posts wouldn’t really be included.

      With that said – I plan on going back to cooking in the next two weeks.

  3. Dad permalink
    December 20, 2011 6:33 am

    Wow–and to think you had time to calculate all that!

  4. December 20, 2011 12:49 am

    When your #1 ingredient is butter, you know you’re doing something right.

Leave a Reply

