Skip to content

The Part of Tens

December 14, 2011

I think we can all agree that Things have gotten a little out of hand on the blog this past week. For the last couple weeks of the year I’ll try to keep to the original spirit of the blog. I’ll write about Damn Good and throw in some touching life stories, geeky humor, all covered in sarcasm.

If you are familiar with the Dummies series of books then you will realize that I stole this weeks blog theme from them. (Of course they stole it from David Letterman, who stole it from any person who has ever written a list with ten items on it.) Given how closely this blog resembles Cooking for Dummies or perhaps Blogging for Dummies I felt a part of tens seemed right. Also there are no more recipes left to cook so I need some easy ideas for blogging.

I once heard an adventure defined as something you don’t regret doing, but wouldn’t necessarily want to repeat. The Mike/Mitch project was definitely an adventure. It was the best/worst way I could have spent the past year. I definitely don’t regret it, but there are parts of this experiment that I will never do again. Which brings us to tonight’s top ten list:

Top 10 Things I Did Last Year That I Will not Do Again

10. Make my own marshmallows. I think I still have some of that goop stuck in the stand mixer.

9. Go running with my wife and my sister-in-law and pretend that I am in better shape than they are by running backwards along side of them. (I pulled a muscle and didn’t recover for months.)

8. Change jobs twice in the same year. I’m becoming an expert at corporate orientation. This is not a good thing.

7. Make  Sauerkraut. I don’t even like sauerkraut and they sell very good stuff at the store for when I need a pinch to put on my Reuben.

6. .Climb a tree. This one is a little sad, but it may be time to admit my tree climbing days are over. I cracked a rib jumping up onto a branch this year and now I know that when it hurts to breathe it is probably going to rain that day.

5. Eat store-bought peanut butter. Sorry Annette, but Skippy can’t compete with Mitch’s Peanutbutter.

4. Make my own Hot Italian Sausage. Way too much work and driving around for ingredients. There are plenty of places that sell great Italian sausage.

3. Buy sticks of margarine. Turns out, I can believe it’s not butter and it does not taste as good.

2. Debone a Rabbit. What’s Up Doc?

And the Number 1 thing I will Never Ever do again as long as I live is

1. Make a Goal to Blog every day. I can almost talk myself into thinking the discipline of writing every day was good and that I am a better writer person now, but it was the hardest part of the experiment. I can’t count the days I didn’t want to sit down in front of the computer and start writing.

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 2:03 pm

    Blogging daily is next to impossible if you have an actual life and career to tend to, my friend! Don’t feel bad, I can barely keep up with my infrequent schedule!

  2. December 15, 2011 2:31 pm

    I admire you for sticking with it. It’s not something I was able to do, as you know.

  3. December 15, 2011 9:02 am

    I completely agree with the blogging every day thing. I LOVE writing/blogging, but it is VERY difficult to make an every day commitment while life is going on. 🙂 That being said, I really hope you keep blogging, even if it’s not every day.
    P.S. Take this as a compliment; I think I’ve convinced Tim to do a similar cooking challenge to you. He’s deciding between cookbooks right now. I’m hoping it will help get us out of the dinner rut! And I think we’re going to blog about it….but not every day! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. December 15, 2011 4:43 am

    Blog every day is great challenge. Good job. 🙂

  5. Janet Koplos permalink
    December 15, 2011 1:43 am

    I understand #1 but am still sorry to hear it. If you don’t change your mind you’ll probably never write that science fiction [cooking] book because it takes discipline or determination to sit down and do that writing. It’s like running–it gets easier the more you do it and is in some ways it’s like exercising muscles, but it’s never really easy.

Leave a Reply

