Skip to content

But Fate Ordains That Dearest Things Must Part

December 13, 2011

We haven’t had much snow yet this year, but Thing 1 and Thing 2 managed to be here for our second snowfall of the season. First Things first I put them to work clearing the walk.

After the work was done Thing 1 and Thing 2 played in the snow with the kids. First they made snow angels.

Then they helped Sarah and Max build some snow forts. The snow was a little dry to be good for building, but if you packed it hard enough it worked.

And finally they decided to make their own snowman. I think it turned out pretty well. (Thanks go to Steve for the excellent SnowThing.)

Since it is that time of year thing 1 and Thing 2 were also here while we trimmed our Christmas Tree.

The Things were a big help with getting our decorations on the tree and before you knew it we were done.

The only thing left was to place Tinkerbell on top of the tree.

And there you have it a beautiful tree, Things and all.

Even though they were only here for a little over a week I am really going to miss those Things. In case you couldn’t tell I had a lot of fun with Thing 1 and Thing 2. There was talk of staying for the holidays, but they are too adventurous to be tied to one home. I have sent them on to the next stop on the tour.

Farewell Thing 1 and Thing 2

 

Dr Seuss Quote of the Day:

Now, don’t Ask me what Voom is.

I never will know.

But, boy! Let me tell you

It does clean up snow!

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 8:44 am

    How cute! What fun they (and you) had! I love your tree-topper…..we have an ugly angel that I’ve refused to put up. We looked for a star this year, but then decided to wait until we go to DisneyWorld in July and find one at Downtown Disney….is that where Tink came from?

    • December 15, 2011 11:05 am

      I think we ordered ours from Disney.com, but it is our second Tinkerbell topper. The first one was the victim of a tragic cat-climbing-and-knocking-the-tree-over incident.

  2. December 14, 2011 2:39 pm

    What an amazing adventure
    I read from beginning to end
    I wonder if to my house
    Leanne will ever send.

    Wow, that rhyme was quite crappy.
    But your blog is way cool!
    Those Things were pretty lucky
    To Hell and back for Christmas — Mike, you rule!

    • December 14, 2011 2:43 pm

      Awesome comment. I really wanted to write one of my posts in Suessian Ryhme, but never found the time.

  3. December 14, 2011 2:33 pm

    This is hilarious!! Love it!

  4. December 14, 2011 1:47 pm

    I LUV the hook up with Tinker Bell! Just keep them away from Mr. Bill!

    ~Andy @OURLIFEIN3D.com

    • December 14, 2011 1:52 pm

      I think folks may be reading too much into the pic with Tink. Thing 1 and Thing 2 assure me they are all just friends.

  5. December 14, 2011 12:52 pm

    I think they’re going to go into withdrawal after leaving your place. Thanks for being so awesome!

  6. December 14, 2011 11:28 am

    Slave labor, snow angels and a possible-threesome with Tink? Quite the day!

    • December 14, 2011 12:57 pm

      Full disclosure, these pics were taken over multiple days.

  7. December 14, 2011 8:58 am

    Thanks for not hoarding the Things. I promise to show them a good time in Nashville!

  8. December 13, 2011 9:34 pm

    what did we do for fun before digital cameras and posting things on the web?

Trackbacks

  1. Thing 1 & Thing 2 Take Saint Paul | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom

Leave a Reply

