Skip to content

Mall Things Bright and Beauftiful

December 11, 2011

If you do any traveling you may have noticed that when you get close to a tourist attraction often the amount of souvenir stores cover a larger area than the attraction itself. If you don’t believe me just go to Niagara Falls some time. The falls are amazing, but the stores are ubiquitous. I think I saw 200 different types of key chains and 49 different souvenir spoons. And what’s with the little bells?

Here in Minnesota we are very efficient and we decided to cut out the middleman. Our tourist attraction is the shops. I knew that the Thing 1 and Thing 2 could not come to the Twin Cities without a trip to our biggest tourist trap attraction.

Every year for Christmas shopping I take each of the kids to the Mall, which makes three trips for me every December. I like to think I know the mall pretty well and honestly even though it is a pretty big mall I tend to just think of it as the mall I shop at. No big deal.

According to my crack team of researchers, MOA is only the second largest Mall in the US by sq. feet, but it does have the greatest number of stores. It also has an indoor amusement park called Nickelodeon Universe and an Aquarium called Minnesota Sea Life.

We didn’t go to either of these today. A roller coaster ride isn’t out of the question on these annual gift buying trips. However, the lucky child today who got to be embarrassed by her dad propping up Thing 1 and Thing 2 all over the place, was my daughter Sarah. Roller Coasters aren’t her Thing 1 or her Thing 2.

One of the fun things about going to the Mall this time of year is that it is all decked out for Christmas. The Things really seemed to enjoy the decorations.

Of course we came to shop and that is what we did. Right after a little lunch. No trip to the Mall would be complete without a stop at the food court. They look small, but those Things can really put away the pizza.

After lunch we headed over to the Lego store where we may or may not have gotten a present for Sarah’s brother, Max. (It’s OK he doesn’t read the blog. Besides one shake and you pretty much know they are Legos.)

The Things wanted to stay and build a lego kite that could be flown all around the store, but I managed to get them out of the Lego bins before they could cause any mischief.

The Mall really is huge, but it is funny how often you run into old friends while shopping.

After we left the Grinches behind Sarah and I got down to some serious shopping. She crossed all of her presents off her list in enough time to for us to take in a movie. (Did I mention they have a 14 screen multi-plex movie theater, too?) I had heard mixed reviews about Hugo Cabret, but it was a Scorsese film and it was showing at the right time so we went for it. I enjoyed the film and I think Sarah did too. I know Thing 1 and Thing 2 had a good time. Even if they did have to share their 3-D glasses.

Dr Seuss Quote of the Day :

We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love. – Theodor Geisel

 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 6:57 am

    I’m totally jealous of Things 1 and 2. I really want to see the Mall of America.

  2. December 15, 2011 2:15 pm

    Dr. Seuss was a very wise man.

  3. December 14, 2011 11:30 am

    Great work so far, Things!

  4. December 12, 2011 11:24 pm

    I want to replicate this journey.

    Awesomesauce!

  5. December 12, 2011 7:21 am

    “According to my crack team of researchers”– By that you mean Wikipedia, right?

    I went to the Mall of America once, like, five years ago. There is (or at least used to be) a dinosaur museum, yes?

    I remember being entirely disappointed in the lack of horse tack shops. “They have the most stores of any mall in the U.S., and they don’t even sell saddles?!”

    Great post, and another Thing: That quote is seriously awesome.

    • December 12, 2011 8:07 am

      The dinosaur museum is gone. Its a mini golf course now.

      And in regards to my researchers, “You know that’s right.”

  6. December 12, 2011 7:02 am

    seriously? i have only been there three times. and one of those three times was before it opened.

    • December 12, 2011 8:04 am

      I have to shop somewhere and when I started this tradition it was the closest mall.

  7. December 12, 2011 12:17 am

    Love the mall tour and especially the quote! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Thing 1 & Thing 2 Take Saint Paul | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom

Leave a Reply

