Skip to content

They Thought it was Swell, When The Things Went to Hell

December 9, 2011

I promised Leanne that if she sent Thing 1 and Thing 2 to me as part of the tour then I would take them to Hell. After the last year of cooking and eating I like to think I am an expert on Hell’s Kitchen. I know all the menu items by heart, and I typically know how everything is made. Going with me to Hell’s Kitchen can be delicious, educational, and a little annoying. The Things were great dinner companions though because they don’t talk and they let me eat all the food.

OK, this picture is staged because I never need to look at the menu any more. I ordered the tuna steak which was one of the few items I had never tried before.

For an appetizer we ordered the BBQ Pork Nachos. The Things aren’t in this picture, but I am showing it to you anyway because they are nachos and they have BBQ pork on them. I would recommend that you go to Hell’s Kitchen and order these, but then there would be less for me. So you shouldn’t do that.

While we waited for our meals to arrive I took Thing 1 and Thing 2 around the restaurant and gave them a tour. We got a few odd stares and one brave soul even came over and asked what these Things were.

During dinner everyone was too distracted by the food to take any pictures, but once dessert came around we remembered why we had come to Hell. Our intentions were good and we meant to take more food pictures, but it just didn’t happen. The Things did a little dance when we showed them the Awesome Brownie Bonanza. It is a brownie covered with a layer of Hell’s Kitchen’s World Famous peanutbutter, a scoop of ice cream and vanilla whipped cream. They put two cherries on top. One for Thing 1 and one for Thing 2. Steve ate both of them (way to go Steve). The dessert on the right was mine. I ordered the Nefarious Mystery Dessert which turned out to be blueberry cheesecake. Yum. If you look closely enough you can see where Thing 1 got a little bit of bluberry on its nose. Don’t worry, it licked right off.

While we were eating dessert and drinking coffee something very bizarre happened. I got recognized. We had a marvelous server all night (whose name escapes me) and as we are just finishing up she comes over to the table with Justin (at least I am pretty sure that is his name), Justin was our waiter back in September when Kira and I came in for brunch. Mitch had left us a bag of goodies for me to cook with and I explained about the blog so he wouldn’t think we were complete free loaders. With great Joy I tell Justin that I only have one more recipe left and he makes a couple comments that let me know he’s checked out the blog, which is cool. And then…

Then he notices Thing 1 and Thing 2 sticking out of my shirt pocket. I explain about their excellent adventure and ask if it would be possible to sneak Thing 1 and Thing 2 into the Kitchen for a picture. It was.*

We all enjoyed our stay in Hell so much that Thing 1 and Thing 2 returned with us when we went to brunch two days later. It had been a pretty big weekend so they started off with an amazing bloody mary. And we got them an order of Lemon Ricotta hotcakes, which they were not able to finish.

And when Mitch gave me my new Chef’s coat they found a new place to hang out on the way home.

Stay tuned to find out how much fun Thing 1 and Thing 2 had at my Final Recipe Party.

Dr. Seuss Quote of the Day:

Adults are just obsolete children and to hell with them. – Theodor Geisel

*For the rest of the night and the next day I would look at people and say, “I got to go in the Kitchen! How Cool is that?” Because lets face it when was the last time you got to go behind the scenes into the kitchen of the restaurant for the cookbook that your blog is based on? You haven’t, have you? Well I did and I mean, How cool is that!?!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2011 6:58 am

    Mmmmm…blueberry cheesecake….

  2. December 15, 2011 2:10 pm

    Way cool…

  3. Dad permalink
    December 10, 2011 7:49 am

    We didn’t get to see the kitchen!

    • December 10, 2011 12:35 pm

      If it makes you feel any better only the Things and me got to go back into the kitchen.

  4. December 10, 2011 7:13 am

    I wonder what the good doctor would make of this?

  5. Kira permalink
    December 9, 2011 11:46 pm

    Thing 1 and Thing 2 got in the kitchen?? No way! That is so cool!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Thing 1 & Thing 2 Take Saint Paul | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom

Leave a Reply

