Skip to content

One Thing Leads to Another

December 8, 2011

Thing 1 and Thing 2 have finally arrived in Minnesota! Leanne Shirtliffe or Ironic Mom has included my humble blog on the Things Excellent Adventure. After a lot of excitement, some waiting and then some excited waiting the Things have finally found their way to Minnesota. They were supposed to arrive weeks ago, but I think they were trying to avoid leaving the warmth of the sunshine state. This may have backfired on them since things have only gotten colder here in the land of lakes. On Friday while I was preparing for my big Final Recipe party I went out to check the mail and found Thing 1 and Thing 2 waiting to come inside. They were very happy to be out of their envelope and they were lucky enough to arrive on a sunny day.

It was a busy day for me and the Things offered to help by making the peanut butter for me. I’m not sure how much help they were, but they smiled the whole time we cooked together. First we read the recipe together and then roasted the peanuts.

Thing 2 was especially proficient using the microwave.

I explained to them that we didn’t need any of these pots or pans, but they climbed up there anyway.

We did need the stand mixer. After we added all the ingredients Thing 1 and Thing 2 kept watch to let me know when the mixing was finished.

After all of our work we had a very delicious jar of homemade peanut butter. We used this peanut butter to dip celery in and to keep me from getting too hungry while I cooked everything.

This is just the beginning of the Things adventures in the Twin Cities (their natural habitat). Later that night we took them out to dinner, but I’ll save that for tomorrow.

Dr Seuss Quote of the Day:

Then those Things ran about

With big bumps, jumps and kicks

And with hops and big thumps

And all kinds of bad tricks.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2011 2:07 pm

    Nice, whimsical photos of The Things! Can’t wait to see what else you have in store for them.

  2. December 14, 2011 2:00 pm

    Excellent post. Like this creative post of yours a lot 🙂 Hats off to your imagination, you are doing a wonderful job here.

    • December 14, 2011 2:41 pm

      Thanks. this week was sort of a deviation, but the sense of humor stays the same.

  3. December 10, 2011 7:15 am

    Those Things have more fun than me! They certainly travel more…

  4. December 10, 2011 6:48 am

    How cute and my children love them.

  5. December 9, 2011 6:21 pm

    those grinning faces would drive me batty after a while…..

  6. Patti permalink
    December 9, 2011 3:49 pm

    Considering how you’ve spent your time this past year, just be sure not to cover them in a lovely holandais sauce and drop a poached egg on top!

  7. December 9, 2011 1:51 pm

    You’re lucky they didn’t “fall” (jump) into the Mixer!!!!!

    • December 9, 2011 3:30 pm

      I know. Of course they have been machine washed before so I guess they would survive it again.

  8. December 9, 2011 1:10 pm

    You made your own peanut butter? I’m very impressed! It’s good to know that the Things are helpful in the kitchen.

    • December 9, 2011 3:29 pm

      It’s really hard to go back to store bought peanutbutter after I started making my own.

  9. Leanne Shirtliffe permalink
    December 9, 2011 12:50 pm

    Love those photos! They are having way to much fun. And eating all too well, I see.

    • December 9, 2011 12:52 pm

      Thanks. They ate very well on this trip. Just wait and see.

Trackbacks

  1. Thing 1 and Thing 2 Do Nashville and Chicago | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom
  2. Thing 1 & Thing 2 Take Saint Paul | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom
  3. I’m Sending You Snail Mail | Leanne Shirtliffe ~ Ironic Mom

Leave a comment