Skip to content

And Then It Didn’t End, A Mike/Mitch Party Coda

December 7, 2011

It wasn’t intended. There were no plans to eat more Damn Good Food this past weekend after Saturday’s Party. Some people had different plans and by some people I mean Kira’s dad, Ed. He was only in town for the weekend and was convinced we should eat brunch at Hell’s Kitchen. We tried to explain that we hadn’t made reservations and you can’t just show up on Sunday morning with 15 people at the best brunch in the twin cities. He was not deterred.

I’m fuzzy on the exact timing, but at some point Saturday night between eating bear and eating Birthday cake Ed mentioned to Cynthia his Brunch idea. Before we can say anything she is on the phone with the restaurant asking if they can somehow fit us in. Part of me felt like we were taking advantage of the situation and the other part felt that this was super freaking cool.

The next day we showed up and I realized that I didn’t know what name the reservation was under. When I started to tell the hostess this she said they were expecting us and led me to the table. I’m sure that it was because the size of our group, but it was nice to think that maybe they knew who I was.

The group for brunch consisted of my family (minus Kira), Ed, Tim, Steve, My Sister and Brother in Law, their two kids and my Mother in Law, Janet. We were there for less than ten minutes when Mitch came over and said hello. He made sure we were being taken care of and then told us he’d be back later. He returned about five minutes later and brought me another gift. Someone had sent him a chef’s coat from the television show Hell’s Kitchen. He figured since they didn’t want him (on the show) then he didn’t really want the coat, but he thought I might like it. He was right.

Then he pulled a chair up to our table and sat with us for the whole meal. I devoured my Bison Benedict and drank the Best Damn Bloody Mary I’ve ever had while he regaled us with even more stories. I think I would have sat there talking for the rest of the day, but eventually the kids all started to get restless and we had to head out. It was a great addition to an already great weekend.

I snapped one last photo with Mitch before heading out the door.

We went home and after a bit I started making dinner. After our trip to Hell’s Kitchen I was inspired to make some Huevos Rancheros. I had everything I needed (except eggs and tortillas ironically enough). It’s Kira’s favorite dish at HK and she didn’t get to go with us because of a work commitment. So my first dinner after the completion of the project was also the first dinner that I cooked last January.

Yum.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2011 7:20 am

    You’ve come full circle. How fitting!

  2. Kira permalink
    December 8, 2011 6:57 am

    I love Huevos Rancheros!

  3. Mary Jo Koplos permalink
    December 8, 2011 6:50 am

    Nice shirt!

Leave a Reply

