Skip to content

Final Days

December 1, 2011

The cooking portion of the Mike/Mitch project will be complete in less than three days. I’ve planned for it for months and this week there has already been a lot of cooking, shopping, and chopping.

And yet it still snuck up on me. I’m not mentally prepared to be done.

I’ll be done with this weird crazy thing that I set out to do last December and I can’t decide if I feel proud, relieved, joyous, exhausted, or just really full. Maybe it is a little of all of them, but there seems to be a large part of my brain that feels like , “Meh, I guess you’re done now.”

Also the question everyone is going to ask me on Saturday as we are snarfing down roasted bear ribs will be, “What are you going to do next year?” My guess is that I will still cook things because I like to eat and that I will still blog because I like to think I am clever, but the real answer is probably nothing. At least nothing as specific as cooking 157 recipes in a single year. And nothing as time sucking as blogging every single day.

But I digress. After Saturday I will have plenty of time to over analyze my year of blogging and over eating.

For now there is still some cooking today. So far this week I have made homemade vanilla, juiced a bag of key limes, chopped two onions (prepping for bear and bean dip), minced some mushrooms, and baked four loaves of brioche bread. And I’m just getting started.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2011 3:51 pm

    there are LOTS of cookbooks out there, she said hopefully….

    • December 3, 2011 11:29 pm

      Thanks for coming!

      • December 4, 2011 3:06 pm

        thanks for inviting us! your house is so warm and welcoming. and, of course, there was that bear meat….

  2. December 3, 2011 11:56 am

    SAY IT ISN’T SO!!!

  3. December 1, 2011 6:04 pm

    I feel exactly the same. I’ll be thinking about plans coming up, and remember, “Oh, I have to get some posts prewritten before the anime convention, ’cause I don’t know how good the WiFi will be at the hotel”, and then remember that it’s not until May and I can darn well take the three days off, because I CAN. I love the experience and challenge of Postaday, but my goodness, I’ll be glad to take a few days off come January.

    Postaday is a lot like NaNoWriMo. The emphasis is on quantity, and getting yourself to write regularly, not on quality. I feel like I’ve had to compromise my posts sometimes because of time constraints. So come 2012, I won’t post every single day, but everything I DO post will be higher quality.

    It definitely helps to have blogging buddies like you, though. Knowing others are feeling the same exhaustion– anticipation mixed with “what will I do then?”–helps a lot.

Leave a Reply

