Skip to content

Thankful for Leftovers

November 26, 2011

Earlier in the year I suggested to Kira that we host Thanksgiving. Thankfully for my sanity Kira talked me out of cooking for Thanksgiving and her Aunt and Uncle hosted a great dinner over at their house.

During the time when I was planning on cooking a big turkey I started making plans for the leftovers. The first idea that popped into my head was Cranberry Hollandaise Sauce. The rest of the Benedict formed quickly in my mind. A cake made from leftover stuffing, a slice of roast turkey and a poached egg. I think it is fair to say that I’ve been anticipating this meal more than the big Thanksgiving meal the day before. I didn’t have the leftovers to make this meal, but that didn’t stop me.

Before going to bed last night I put a turkey breast in  bag of brine. I got the turkey into the oven at a decent hour this morning and cooked it slowly in the oven for three hours. We missed out on the roasting turkey smells yesterday so it was nice to get them today. I ran out to a Black Friday sale at Half Price Books while I let the turkey cool.

I made the stuffing cakes first by combining some stove top stuffing with a little homemade mayonnaise , celery, onion, and bread crumbs. I found a couple recipes online for stuffing AND turkey cakes, but nothing without meat in it so I made up my own. It’s sort of like a crab cake so I decided to cook it the same way – deep fried. With deep fried stuffing as the base things couldn’t really go wrong, but it gets better.

To make the cranberry Hollandaise I knew that i wanted to have pieces of cranberries or maybe even whole cranberries in the sauce.  I followed the recipe on the bag of fresh cranberries that I bought to make cranberry sauce, but I replaced the water with a reduction of cranberry juice and sparkling wine. Once this was complete it looked like cranberries floating in water. I drained off the liquid and threw three quarters of the berries in the food processor and pulsed them a few times. Now it looked like cranberry sauce. right before serving I whisked it into my silky smooth Hollandaise.

The end result was delicious. The first flavor that hits you is classic stuffing and turkey just like the day after TG is supposed to taste. Then the slightly tart and creamy Hollandaise followed up with a slight zing from the cayenne and chipotle pepper in the stuffing cakes. This may have to become a Thanksgiving leftover tradition. Click here or on the picture to see my recipe.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2011 8:59 am

    A very creative way to use no leftovers! 🙂

  2. November 28, 2011 10:04 pm

    Wow, that’s quite the creative Thanksgiving leftovers idea… Sounds delish!

  3. November 27, 2011 1:12 pm

    I’m normally pretty weird about combining sweet (like fruit) with savory (like meat), but this looks so tasty that I would totally try it.

  4. November 27, 2011 9:30 am

    A meal – any meal – at your house would rock!

  5. November 26, 2011 1:49 pm

    Veliki minds, dey are thinkink a like. In Russia, eggs benedict you!

  6. Dad permalink
    November 26, 2011 7:18 am

    Happy Day After Thanksgiving!

  7. November 26, 2011 1:59 am

    Nice cooking. I like using leftovers.

Leave a Reply

