Skip to content

The Last Benedict of Mitch

November 20, 2011

Tonight I made my last official Damn Good Hollandaise sauce. I announced it with fanfare as “the last Hollandaise I am making.”  A look of distinct disappointment flitted across Kira’s face in the second or so it took her to realize I meant the last one that is a part of the 157 recipes. There are four Benedict recipes in Damn Good Food and five additional Hollandaise recipes that are not tied to a specific Benedict recipe. Which means that not including repeats I have made Hollandaise from scratch at least nine times in the last year. With repeats included it is probably more than once a month. I am not going to jinx myself and say that I have mastered this recipe, but I have definitely reached a journeyman’s level of competence. It has almost become reflexive and the anxiety of making the sauce has left completely. I realize of course that my next Hollandaise is now cursed by the cooking gods to break, but I am willing to risk it.

The Vegetable Benedict tonight was quite delicious. The eggplant, after covering it in clarified butter and sprinkling heavily with salt, had some good flavor. It can’t compete with the pit ham or bison steak that I’ve used on other Benedicts,  but it worked.  Of course topping it with Roasted red pepper and grilled tomatoes didn’t hurt.

I realize if you are a true vegetarian then no version of eggs Benedict really works because it is mostly eggs and butter. A lot of butter. And Eggs. (Did I mention the butter?)

If you want to try this meal and keep it vegan I found a recipe online that seems to be getting good reviews. It’s from a quite interesting blog called Being Vegan and Getting Away With It. It’s kind of gone silent for a while, but there are some good recipes there. I might have given this margarine soup version of Hollandaise a try, but I was making one of the Damn Good recipes and needed to follow it  exactly if I wanted it to count according to the rules of Mike.

Recipe #153: Clarified Butter

Recipe #154: Vegetable Benedict

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: [Hollandaise] can be used in various recipes to be served with red meat, game, chicken, fish, and vegetables. Use your imagination.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2011 7:46 am

    That looks soooo good. Please come cook for me.

  2. November 21, 2011 3:21 pm

    mmmm that picture made me super hungry!!!

    I wanted to let you know that I have recently moved my blog to a self hosted site, the URL is now http://www.africasblog.com

Leave a Reply

