Skip to content

Grill? In Your Dreams!

November 19, 2011

I may need to pay closer attention the next time someone tells me to eat my vegetables. Today’s recipe required me to grill portabello mushrooms and eggplant. I don’t think I consciously put these veggie recipes off until the end, but  I have to admit they don’t excite me as much as the bison burgers. I thought I would be OK grilling in November. I knew it would probably be cold, but what I didn’t count on was the first snow of the season.

I suppose I didn’t have to wear shorts, but the grilling was only about 5 minutes of the cooking and I watched from the comfort of my window for about 4 minutes of that time. I spent a good amount of time in the kitchen preparing these sandwiches and as you know it can get as hot as Hell in there.

The Veggie and Cheese Panini is sort of like the kitchen sink of veggie sandwiches.

Slice of Tomato

Sliced Grilled Portabello Mushroom

Roasted Red Pepper

Braised Fennel

Grilled Egg Plant

Fontina Cheese

Mixed Course Ground Mustard and Homemade  Mayo

Sourdough Bread

I am going to confess that these sandwiches look much prettier before I cooked them. Being Panini’s the recipe calls for a panini sandwich press. I have made cubans in the past and used a second frying pan to press the sandwiches with great success. Using this method on the Veggie panini’s had mixed results. We ended up with some fried tasty bundles of food, but I am not sure you could call them sandwiches. We all used a fork and a knife to eat them instead of picking the sandwiches up. I was probably the most reluctant to yield this basic functionality of a sandwich and kept trying to pick up a different corner of the mess. No luck. The flavors of the finished product combined together to make for a very tasty meal, but I don’t think it will be going in my top ten.

Recipe #152: Veggie and Cheese Panini

Damn Good Dinner Conversation Quote of the Day:

Me: Presentation is half of the meal.

Max: I like the other half better.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 5:33 am

    I would expect nothing less than to see you in shorts, grilling in the snow! 🙂

  2. November 20, 2011 8:56 am

    those sandwiches look terrific. doug grills all winter long. but usually not in shorts.

  3. Dad permalink
    November 20, 2011 6:20 am

    Snow? 80 degrees here in Del Rio! Carmen & Vivienne say hello. So do Kyoko & Shuji!

  4. November 19, 2011 11:32 pm

    It looks so cold. Take care but the food sounds delicious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

