Skip to content

Veggie Tales

November 16, 2011

For every source of darkness in the world there is a light, for every yin a yang. The universe exists in a balance that I cannot go against. Several weeks ago I dedicated a week of my blog to the enjoyment of the tastiest food there is, Bacon. And because I am all about the balance in the universe I have decided to dedicate this week to bacon’s natural predator, vegetables. In some circles this is being called Vegetarian Week, but I have to confess that their will  be milk and eggs involved so technically it is Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian Week. It helps that of the four Damn Good meals I have left to cook two of them are vegetarian or at the very least they have the word vegetable in the name of the recipe.

I would like to be clear from the beginning that I do not intend to become a vegetarian. I just thought it would be a fun thing to do and would give me something to blog about. While I can understand why some people would choose not to eat meat, I subscribe to the philosophy of Gary, “We spent 10,000 years crawling our way to the top of the food chain, why would we give that up?”

You might think I would take advantage of Vegetarian Week to eat a little healthier. You would be wrong. Case in point, I started off the week with a recipe that, while not having any meat, did not have any vegetables in it. It  did have fruit so that should count for something, right?

Fried Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwiches.

In preparation for this meal I made a batch of homemade peanutbutter last night. It is the best of homemade peanutbutter I have made so far. I roasted the peanuts the exact right amount and used unrefined peanut oil. Quite simply it is the ambrosia of sandwich spreads. I seriously doubt there will be any of the four cups left by the end of day tomorrow. I bought a loaf of thick sliced country white bread and fried the sandwiches to perfection in butter and peanut oil. Yum.

I am planning on making some more vegetably things later this week, but the goal really is to not eat any meat. I am going to start my week at noon today because I ate a pork chop for lunch before I remembered.

Damn Interesting Elvis factoid: Elvis ate his peanut butter, banana, and bacon sandwiches with caramelized bananas and crispy bacon on Hawaiian bread grilled in bacon grease. [It always comes back to bacon.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 9:01 pm

    ah, if only butter was a vegetable.

  2. November 18, 2011 1:44 pm

    “For every source of darkness in the world there is a light, for every yin a yang. The universe exists in a balance that I cannot go against.”
    Awesome!
    You cook in more ways than one, my friend!

Leave a Reply

