Skip to content

A Note From My Father

November 12, 2011

Shortly into this project I asked my folks to start reading the blog and my dad has been a faithful reader ever since. I made an off-hand remark that after doing all of this cooking during their visit I would need his guest blog post by midnight on Monday. I was mostly kidding but yesterday he surprised me with this guest post. It is not surprisingly awesome.

Damn Good Breakfast (French Toast, Manohmin Porridge and Corned Beef Hash)

Not that long ago I might not have truly realized just what a “BLOG” is.

Now I know–it represents a whole lot of perseverance, a whole lot of commitment, and, in the case of the Mitch/Mike Project, a whole lot of C/calories. (If you missed the big “C,” little “c” reference, ask a geek friend to explain it to you.) That’s actually my topic–I don’t cook, I don’t blog, nor do I care to. But I was a geek before the word was invented. In a galaxy far away in a past life, I was a high school biology teacher and an acknowledged science fiction nerd. After all, I took Mike to see “Aliens” as part of a driving lesson back in the 80s (as some of you might remember.) When Mike and his sister, Laura, we’re growing up dinner conversation might deal with a nice sci-fi novel or movie or some exotic biological topic such as Dracunculus medinensis (a parasitic round worm of the Middle East and Africa.)

So, if you’ve enjoyed Mike’s droll wit, I’ll take some of the credit. If you don’t enjoy it you probably stopped reading many months ago!
Thanks, Mike. I’ve enjoyed my morning read.

What’s next year’s topic?

Superfluous Corned Beef Hash picture.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2011 8:01 am

    Your Dad rocks, Mike! Geeks rule!

  2. November 13, 2011 7:24 am

    Good job Mike’s Dad. He turned out well.

  3. Patti permalink
    November 13, 2011 4:55 am

    The acorn doesn’t fall far from the tree! We here in God’s Country consider ourselves blessed with the son you raised!

Leave a Reply

