Skip to content

Just Five More Minutes Mom

November 8, 2011

I got up earlier than I would have liked this morning to make some homemade mayonnaise before going to work.

Yes, this is my life now.

I needed the mayo for the Thousand island dressing that I just finished making. The dressing is for the Reubens we are having on Thursday.

Wait, it gets better.

I was in a training course today and as part of one of the exercises the instructor asked us write down everything we did from when we got up until we arrived at the classroom that day. My list looked like this.

  • Get Out of bed
  • Shower
  • Make Homemade Mayonnaise
  • Pack a lunch
  • Drive to Work [I missed my bus because I was making Mayonnaise]
  • Get Coffee
  • Drink Coffee
  • Get More Coffee
Only when I was done writing it did I realize I might have to share my morning with the rest of the class. I’ve already confessed to my coworkers that I am a blogger, but I wasn’t looking forward to explaining about why I had to get up to make homemade mayonnaise to people I just met a week ago and a good many of them just this morning. I sat there thinking, “Don’t pick me. Don’t pick me. Don’t pick me.”  The blogging gods must have heard me because he stopped after about two people on the other side of the room. Thankfully he didn’t need many data points to complete the example he was showing us. Whew.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 2:34 pm

    You’re one busy boy!

  2. November 10, 2011 7:40 pm

    what was his point? why did he want to know everything you did? and it could be worse–you could have a list like mine: carry old dog out into the yard. carry old dog back into the house. feed both dogs. walk young dog. carry old dog out into the yard. carry old dog back into the house. ….

    • November 10, 2011 10:46 pm

      He wanted to show commonality of experience. We all got up and went to work, but might have some different steps in their based on our persona. It was an exercise to show that different users use software different ways. It actually kind of worked, but maybe you had to be there.

      • November 11, 2011 8:16 pm

        What an interesting way to show commonality. That exercise is one that every developer should have to do every few years. We sometimes forget the user experience.

  3. Dad permalink
    November 9, 2011 5:53 am

    Ah, the slow reveal of the menu for the upcoming visit!

Leave a Reply

