Skip to content

Just Like Mom Used to Make

November 6, 2011

Or Not.

I had in the back of my mind today that I was going to make homemade spaghetti sauce with some Spatini, just like dear old mom used to make. She would spend hours in the kitchen adding ingredients and tasting the sauce to make sure it was just right. She would make huge meatballs to go with it and I would eat my weight in pasta every time. I could spend my afternoon in the kitchen reading a book while I checked the sauce every half hour or so.

Then I decided not to. I wasn’t really planning a relaxing day in the kitchen I was planning on having something to blog about. I spend a lot of time thinking about the blog and what I am going to cook and I’m pretty sure no one else is really paying attention. I’d have to say that after work, sleep, and actually cooking I spend more time thinking and planning items for this blog than doing anything else. I’m not sure that is healthy.

Only 7 recipes left and I am in no danger of not finishing my goal, which actually makes the blogging part harder. My folks are visiting this weekend and I am going to make some of the recipes they’ve been drooling over all year so that will get me back into cooking. Maybe I can do a then and now comparison. One of the things on the Mom & Dad menu is the crab cakes which was one of the first recipes I made. It was the first Hollandaise I made too so hopefully I have gotten better.

In the end I did spend a little time in the kitchen making penne with sausage, but I can make that without thinking because it is my recipe. I still think it might be fun to make my Mom’s sauce someday, but today I just wasn’t felling it.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 2:35 pm

    Your Mom must be so proud…

  2. November 11, 2011 7:37 pm

    It takes a lot of time, but making the perfect sauce from scratch is heavenly.

  3. November 10, 2011 1:22 pm

    Glad you’re thinking about what you really want to do and following it. Hope you have a lovely visit with your parents. 🙂

  4. November 7, 2011 9:35 am

    It’s kind of a good thing that Tim’s mom didn’t really cook, and my mom made the same 5 things over and over again. Because it doesn’t give Tim anymore recipes to want to try!

  5. Dad permalink
    November 7, 2011 6:55 am

    Spatini–now that’s a true déjà vu moment. Don’ forget all the cans of Contadina Tomato Paste and Hunt’s Tomato Sauce and the aroma.

  6. Patti permalink
    November 7, 2011 6:18 am

    I sense a mother son moment coming next weekend…go for it! I wish I had memories of cooking with my mother.

    • November 7, 2011 7:28 am

      Don’t know if there is enough time on this trip. They have a lot if damn good recipes they want to try.

      • Patti permalink
        November 8, 2011 2:46 pm

        Yeah, but aren’t there 24 hours in a day?

Leave a Reply

