Skip to content

Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

November 4, 2011

Thing 1 and Thing 2 must have realized that it is the journey not the destination and are taking their time traveling to Saint Paul. While they are en route I thought I would take this time to share with you a few of my (other) favorite things.

  • The first thing that comes to mind is The Thing from Fantastic Four. In the Marvel/DC debate I come down on the side of Marvel every time. I can recall reading about the dangers of Cosmic Rays at a very young age and I think it is possible that I am part of the last generation where comic books are for kids and not all rated T for Teen. I don’t know exactly how old I was when I read the origin story of the Fantastic Four, but I know it was young enough to think that having them represent the four elements (Earth, Air, Water, and Fire) was amazingly clever. Excelsior!
  • Possibly the best Science Fiction Horror movie of all time is John Carpenter’s The Thing. This is not the remake or the prequel or the reboot or whatever. This is the 1982 John Carpenter masterpiece with Kurt Russel and Wilford Brimley.
  • One of my all time favorite things is LibraryThing. It is an online personal book catalog/social media site. Sort of like Facebook, but for literate people.
  • Last and probably least is the original Ring Thing from ThinkGeek. I’m not sure how I survived college without this device.
Dr Suess Quote of the Day:
So all we could do was to
Sit! Sit! Sit! Sit!
And we did not like it.
Not one little bit.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 12:24 pm

    I love your first three Things!
    Hadn’t heard of LibraryThing, but I’ll have to check it out.
    I have no use for RingThing, unless they have a corkscrew version.

  2. November 4, 2011 11:42 am

    Great “thing-centric” post! Ben Grimm rules!

    • November 4, 2011 11:48 am

      I’m suddenly picturing Ben Grimm as a bellman. I think it would work well. He may not get tipped well, but at least people would listen when he told they can’t take a cart.

  3. November 4, 2011 8:46 am

    Great, now that you have told me about the Library Thing I will spend all of my non-existent free time on there! Thank you very much. 🙂 And if I don’t post anything on my blog in a few weeks now, this will be my new excuse!

  4. November 4, 2011 8:05 am

    Thank you for introducing me to LibraryThing! I poked around a little and can’t wait to really get into it. I love to read more than anything else. It’s a great site for that – connecting to others who share the same interest.

    • November 4, 2011 8:28 am

      I found libratything a few years back and then spent the next few weeks entering in books. There are some great bulletin boards like the Green Dragon where you can go and have conversations with other book lovers.

      • November 11, 2011 8:10 pm

        I’m sure I’ll slowly get all my books up there, but it will take a while. I’ve given away tons of them over the last year, but I still have what people consider WAY too many!

Leave a Reply

