Skip to content

Brain Food

October 30, 2011

Earlier today I had trouble deciding what we should have for dinner. I asked Max what we should have and his swift reply was, “Zombie Loaf!” I have trouble saying no to my kids so I went to the fridge and pulled out the Zombie loaf I was saving for a special occasion.

The only problem with Zombie Loaf is that it takes a long time to cook. I’m all for eating raw brains, but my kids are spoiled. I put it in the oven cooking at 350 while the kids worked on giving their pumpkins lobotomies. Max and Sarah finished their pumpkins first so they helped me peel potatoes for the mashed potatoes and we rounded out the meal with some beets. I chose beets because the color goes well with the brains.

While we were carving pumpkins today one of our really cool neighbors brought over some Halloween cupcakes for the kids to enjoy. They don’t plan on giving out candy because they have a life, but she wanted to give treats to kids in the neighborhood. I think this ranks in the top five most neighborly things that has happened since we moved here. Which is to say, it was awesome and I’m really glad I live  here.

Pseudo-fictional accounting aside I was really pleased with how the brain meatloaf turned out. Max really did suggest a Zombie loaf and this was the first thing that popped into my mind. I had come across the idea of a zombie shaped meatloaf, but the brain-loaf was my creation. I have to admit I wasn’t very sure how it was going to turn out and when I put it together my first thought was, “Wow, it really does look like a brain.”

“Cool.”

Zombie Lightbulb joke of the Day:

How many Zombies does it take to screw in a light bulb?

Why are you watching Zombies screw in a light bulb, SHOOT THEM!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2011 6:36 am

    I love the brainloaf! I just came over from Amy’s (she said you had zombie stuff here), so please don’t think I’m stalker when I leave you a gazillion comments on your zombie posts.

  2. October 31, 2011 11:12 am

    Cool Brain.

  3. October 31, 2011 9:52 am

    I’d totally nom on that brain!

  4. October 31, 2011 9:31 am

    This looks so gross. But tasty. Does that mean I’m a zombie?

  5. October 31, 2011 8:54 am

    That looks like one delicious loaf – it’s definitely the blood that makes it.

  6. October 31, 2011 7:00 am

    What a fun parental unit you must be!

Trackbacks

  1. trick or treat! « Fix it or Deal

Leave a Reply

