Skip to content

Undead Pizza

October 28, 2011

As the three creatures shambled into the kitchen I knew I had to find something to fulfill their unearthly hunger. Each one had different tastes and would not consume the same item as the others. The middle one hungered for Braaaaains!

No. Wait. Um, OK,  I’m being told she doesn’t want brains, but rather cheese with some tomato sauce and pepperoni. At least those things are easier to find at the grocery store and with some quick work I can make each kid a mini pizza with a Halloween theme. I bought some sandwich rounds and made individual pizzas that looked jack-o-lanterns. I also found an idea online to use sting cheese to make a mummy pizza. Sarah is my cheese lover so she got the ones you see where the face is practically sliding off. Max ate the ones with the most pepperoni and Melanie ate the ones not pictured here because she is boring (at least where pizza is concerned). I made the pesto one hoping it would look like Frankenstein’s monster, but instead it just looked unappetizing. I ate that one after scooping off most of the pesto.

I think these mini pizzas would go over better with little kids. Our dinner consisted of  30 seconds of “Why did you make these?” followed by 15 minutes of “Normal pizza is better, Dad.” It didn’t help that I agreed with them. They were only mediocre and around here that doesn’t really cut it in the food department any more.

For dessert I did find some pretty cool green brain lollipops so I redeemed myself a little. I asked Max to make a Zombie face for the picture below. I think he really channeled their love for good brains.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 10:23 am

    If you can’t play with your food, it’s not worth eating…

  2. October 30, 2011 2:17 pm

    Awesome (undead) work!

  3. Patti permalink
    October 30, 2011 7:23 am

    I take it your parents never told you not to play with your food?

  4. October 29, 2011 7:46 am

    they’re adorable! especially the one with the horizontal stripes of cheese. i would adopt that one and raise it as my own.

    • October 29, 2011 11:34 am

      Sorry but we ate that one. Despite my poor review none of these guys survived past dinner time.

  5. Dad permalink
    October 29, 2011 6:59 am

    It takes great chutzpah to mess with nature’s perfect food–pizza. Be careful, very careful!

Leave a Reply

