Skip to content

Return of the Living Bread

October 26, 2011

GRAAAAINS!

Beware! Once again the Bread are rising! Melanie talked about her love for bread back when she was hosting the blog for a week, but I have not dedicated a post to the glories of bread – until now. A really good piece of bread doesn’t need butter when you are eating it. The only reason I added butter to the ciabatta rolls was for the picture. Our family must really enjoy these rolls because I didn’t realize until I sat down to write about bread tonight that they were the same rolls which inspired her bread zombie post back in August.

I love good bread and I’d like to think that Melanie learned her love for loaves from her old man, but by that logic she should also enjoy a good steak. I grew up in a house where a sandwich was made on Wonder Bread and we maybe had rolls with dinner. Whenever we got back east I would get a Cheese Steak with those amazing rolls, but that was not often enough in my memory. Just to be clear I am not knocking Wonder Bread. If I want to taste my childhood I will have a Sandwich with Lebanon bologna and mayonnaise on soft white bread. Wash it down with a Mello Yello and I am in nostalgia heaven.

But I am willing to concede that Wonder Bread doesn’t really count as a real bread. The right bread makes the sandwich or even the soup. Ham and corned beef have got to be on rye, turkey and chicken on a firm white or wheat. Sour dough can be used for sandwiches, but it’s real purpose in life is to be cut into small pieces and dipped into chili or clam chowder.

Good bread can turn an ordinary meal into an amazing one. Add a baguette to spaghetti and it is way more interesting (and more photogenic it turns out.) The right bread can cover for poor sandwich ingredients and even store-bought mayonnaise.

Then of course there is the cultural significance of bread. To share a meal is to “break bread.” Your livelihood is your” bread and butter”. A new invention is the “best thing since sliced bread.”  “Give us this day our Daily Bread.” You get the idea.

Yeah, I guess I’d have to say that bread is one of the things I’m going to miss the most when the zombocalypse happens and we revert back to a hunter/gatherer society. Of course the Wonder bread will stay fresh on the shelves for years to come, but it isn’t really the same without mayo.

Damn Good Zombie Quote of the Day: Great Minds Taste Alike (seen on a T-Shirt)

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 12:51 am

    YUM, yes! Lebanon Bologna and mayo, must be on fluffy white bread. Still one of my favorites…

    • November 9, 2011 12:51 am

      that and peanut butter with apple jelly!

    • November 9, 2011 7:52 am

      i have not had any luck yet finding Lebenon bologna, but I haven’t tried any serious delis yet.

      • Laura permalink
        November 10, 2011 12:32 am

        They have it here at QFC. I thinkI’ll go buy some after this 4 week health challenge I’m doing right now. 🙂

  2. October 29, 2011 8:43 am

    some day soon, some weekend, i will make my Irish soda bread and bring your family a loaf. best eaten straight out of the oven, with butter, but excellent toasted, too. with butter.

    and it’s easy to make. no rising. no bread machine. if you can make your own damn peanut butter, you can make irish soda bread.

  3. October 28, 2011 1:06 pm

    I think bread will be the least of my concerns…
    Still, if the zombies do rise, I hope I have a chef of your caliber on my team!

  4. October 27, 2011 8:14 am

    We used to have Italian bread with dinner. And Wonder bread for sandwiches. Now that I’m “grown-up” I can’t believe all the different kinds of bread! I have always loved bread, but now I LOVE BREAD!!!!!! When Tim makes it, it’s even better. Although I sometimes try to talk him out of making it…..especially when we’re having a big party…..because the process takes so long. Especially if he’s making 10 loaves. So Panera has definitely become a good second-option.

    • October 27, 2011 8:21 am

      I can’t believe I didn’t touch on the subject of making my own bread. I hate it. The smell is awesome, but the process is not fun (no bread machine) and my results for the end product are mixed at best.

  5. Dad permalink
    October 27, 2011 7:32 am

    No, not Wonder Bread in Alabama…it was Holsum! We also lamented the loss of real bread when we left Philadelphia for our nomadic life. Now we live in an area where the bakery “bread” is flat!

  6. Kira permalink
    October 27, 2011 6:48 am

    You make me laugh every day. Thanks!

  7. October 27, 2011 3:41 am

    Its George Romero’s head! I like all sorts of bread, but not chicken bread. I don’t think bread should taste like chicken.

Leave a Reply

