Skip to content

Blog It Again Sam

October 23, 2011

Quite Early on in the Mike/Mitch Project I started looking at the ingredients I would need to complete the cookbook. I wrote a post about it at the beginning of February, but I thought it might be fun to look it over again as I am now nine recipes away from the end. Here is a copy of the list of ingredients I thought would be interesting/hard to find/impossible to find.

  • unsweetened Dutch-process cocoa powder – Who knew there was a difference? I found out that most of the unsweetened cocoa powder on the baking aisle is Dutch Process and I think I used Hershey’s Extra Dark to make some damn good cocoa.
  • live female lobster – I knew I had dreaded this recipe for a long time, but didn’t realize it started back in February. I am now an accomplished lobster killer.
  • hot paprika – I confess that I made a couple of recipes with regular paprika, but then I found this cool can of the HOT stuff. 
  • liquid smoke – It always feels like I am cheating when I add this because the sauce instantly smells like BBQ sauce should.
  • tarragon vinegar – I’ve used this exactly once – Does anyone have any good recipes that use tarragon vinegar?
  • apple cider vinegar – I Now have six different types of vinegar in the house. I use most of them frequently.
  • fresh raw vegetables – I have become very acquainted with the produce section of the grocery store. Stay tuned for Vegetarian Week coming up soon.
  • miracle whip – This is used for the coleslaw recipe and it is totally worth it.
  • Open Pit barbecue sauce – I found this easily at the grocery store once I looked on the right shelf. I bought a gallon jug of the stuff to make sauce for my spare ribs and it is still taking up valuable space in the fridge.
  • shallots – Once an unknown now it is a staple in my kitchen. I’ve replace onions in a couple of my recipes with shallots to good result.
  • curing salt – Curing salt was VERY hard to find. I finally found some at an Asian market, but only after looking in about 10 places. I don’t remember writing much about it because there were a lot of other things going on, but it was very annoying given how much I have needed.
  • steel-cut oats – When I made the oatmeal recipe I used most of it for the Fried Oatmeal. I think I may need to just make a pot of oatmeal some morning this week, Definitely the season for it.
  • veal stock – I will confess here and now that I have not found any veal stock in the Twin Cities. I have replaced it with beef stock. (Sorry, Mitch.)
  • bison flank steak – Found bison flank steaks at Lund’s. I will be making the Bison Benedict again someday. Yum.
  • sushi grade salmon and ahi tuna – My friends at coastal seafoods helped me out with both of these amazing recipes.
  • fresh beetsThese had great flavor and amazing color.
  • fresh coconut – I’m pretty sure most people know how this one turned out.
  • Gruyère – It’s just fancy Swiss cheese.
  • spun honey – We don’t have any in the house right now, but spun honey has become a staple because someone in the house likes homemade Granloa.
  • Carbon’s Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Flour – Got some on their website and it was worth it. Mitch has a recipe for pancakes that just uses malted milk powder, but it doesn’t really compare.
  • wasabi paste – See sushi grade salmon and ahi tuna.
  • salmon roe – Worked great with the Salmon Tartare, but too fishy with the lobster scrambled eggs.
  • fresh pea tendrils – I actually haven’t made this one yet and I am a little worried it’s going to be hard to find fresh peas.
  • pork butt – I haven’t made this yet and still haven’t seen anything actually labeled pork butt in the store. I may have to ask a butcher.
  • antelope shoulder – It was good meat, but the stroganoff recipe will probably work for any red meat.
  • pectin powder and calcium water – I’ve made jam three or four times now. No disrespect to Mitch, but if I continue making any jams I might do a little more research.
  • rabbit tenderloin – I ended up carving my own from a whole rabbit I found at a local co-op. If I had it to do over again I would have ordered on the internet.
  • fresh black truffles – Mitch and Cynthia took care of this one for me. Mitch claims it was an inferior product, but what do I know. It made a great Hollandaise.
  • rib roast of bear – I have found a website that claims to sell bear. I will keep everyone posted.
Sorry to throw out a clip episode, but I wasn’t feeling very inspired.

Humphrey Bogart Quote of the Day:

You played it for her, you can play it for me!

-Rick from Casablanca

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 3:27 pm

    The End is near? Good for you!
    My book is barely halfway from completion…

  2. October 24, 2011 11:20 am

    if you have a slow-cooker, you can make the steel-cut oatmeal in the crockpot overnight. otherwise, it takes about a half-hour and that’s kind of a long time to be cooking at 6 a.m.

    • October 24, 2011 11:29 am

      Mitch’s method uses a double boiler so the cream doesn’t get scorched. You do boil yours in cream, right?

  3. October 24, 2011 12:39 am

    Vegetarian Week? You ROCK, dude. Can’t wait to try out some of those recipes on my unsuspecting victims… ahem, I mean family members.

    I wonder if “pork butt” is supposed to taste differently than regular pork. Kind of weird 😉

Leave a Reply

