Skip to content

We’ll Always Have Chicago

October 22, 2011

I wasn’t planning on doing a guest post this week, but when Rob volunteered his wife Tracey to write up a review of my 148th Damn Good Recipe I took him up on it.  Given how much I trashed her Kitchen I think she was very kind.

I was excited to hear that the Donnellys were coming to Chicago for a visit.  Not just because we always have a good time with them, but because Mike asked if he could make one of his recipes.  “I told him he could feed us caviar,” said Rob.  How often does that happen when you have houseguests?

Perhaps a little apprehensive when we said “sure, there must be somewhere around here to buy good fish”, Mike brought the salmon and salmon roe with him to make Salmon Tartare with Buttered Brioche Toast Points.  I came home mid-afternoon to find him chopping fish. I sat down and had a glass of wine with Kira and watched him chop some more ingredients, with a different knife each time (or so it seemed).  It smelled wonderful in the kitchen and I didn’t have to do a thing except tell him where to find more utensils and pans.

So how good was it?  Wow.  Just wow.  And amazing.  All of that chopping was worth it.  I could taste each ingredient, the sesame oil, the wasabe, the chives, the garlic and of course the salmon.  But nothing was overpowering, it was just this amazing blend of flavors.  And the brioche toast points provided nice buttery balance.

How do you follow up an appetizer like that?  By letting Mike cook dinner too!  Last summer Rob and our daughters got to eat Fancy Fried Trout with Scrambled Eggs and Burnt Butter on the Coleman-Donnelly camping trip, and since our youngest proclaimed it “the best fish ever”, Mike decided to make it again, trying it on a conventional cooktop this time rather than a campfire.  So once again we got to have a glass of wine and watch Mike cook.  I have never seen so much butter go into one meal.

Wow.  And it was tasty.  Not on a par with the Salmon Tartare, but still worth having to do all the dishes afterward!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 12:13 am

    Wow, that’s a lot of bitter!! Ok, so I realized that Mom & Dad are on their way to visit and have you cook for them, and I am just a little envious. I’m thinking, I’d better start perusing your blogs more carefully to see what I want you to cook next time we get together. I’m guessing it’ll be this summer. So to begin, you may put this Salmon Tartare on the list!
    Thanks!

  2. October 24, 2011 3:31 pm

    This was incredibly well done, guest poster. Come back soon, Tracey!

  3. October 24, 2011 1:09 pm

    So Mike, when are you coming to Virginia?

Leave a Reply

