Skip to content

Mother Necessity

October 19, 2011

I call my creation for dinner tonight the UnTV Dinner. I hadn’t planned what I was going to make so I started looking around the kitchen. I found some frozen hamburger patties, some dried mushrooms, a bottle of wine with about a glass and a half left in it, a bag of potatoes and some truffle oil.My first thought is Truffle mashed potatoes. I was out of butter , but I did have some cream and I added some olive oil to give it some smoothness. Next I thawed out the hamburger patties, added some oregano, pepper and dried onion to the meat and reformed them into patties to make some very tasty Salisbury Steak. We typically have some packets of gravy in our cabinet and when I checked I got lucky and we had a packet for mushroom gravy. I reconstituted the mushrooms and sautéed them with olive oil and a little salt. I made the gravy packet, then added some wine and the mushrooms. A side of frozen peas and presto – the UnTV Dinner.

Salisbury Steak, Truffle Mashed Potatoes, and Peas

I’ve had fun this week coming up with some creative and delicious meals using just what I have on hand. It was also a great reminder of just how lucky we are to have this type of abundance in our lives. The end total was less than $30 and I will subtract that from what we typically spend on groceries in a week and give the rest to Feed My Starving Children. I liked a lot of the aspects of this Donation week and can definitely see myself doing something like it again. I’m not entirely sure how the family feels about that. It is the first time in memory that there is fewer than 3 boxes of cereal in the house and we haven’t had milk since Sunday night. I am going to leave the FMSC badge on the lower right corner of the blog. I don’t know if this will help them get any more donations, but it will help serve as a reminder for me that we have things pretty good.

Weekly Grocery Total :  $29.86

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 8:33 am

    You’re creativity is astounding! And after spending years convincing people you’re developmentally challenged!
    Just kidding!
    Go watch “French Food at Home” and lighten up, will ya?

  2. October 19, 2011 8:14 am

    extremely resourceful! though i cannot imagine being out of butter. i hope you drank most of that wine.

    • October 19, 2011 8:17 am

      We did not let the wine go to waste, but alas now we are out of wine too. Thank goodness Donation Week is over.

  3. October 19, 2011 7:58 am

    I think your donation week was a success and a great idea!

Leave a Reply

