Skip to content

I Know What Gold Does To Men’s Souls

October 19, 2011

Once again we interrupt this regularly scheduled food blog to talk about things other than food and cooking.

Some of you already know that last Monday I was let go from my job. The company is going through some serious restructuring and the IT department got hit the hardest. It is a small to medium size company so the number of people wasn’t enough to make the news or anything, but it did affect about 25 of us. I won’t say it didn’t suck, but it happened and I don’t really begrudge them the decision. They are running a business and I get it. I still think it was a great job while it lasted. I learned a ton and I hope that I made some connections with people that will outlive the job. Plus I didn’t have to make a lunch for nine months.

In the last week or so I have gone from a mentality of, “Huh, What am I going to do now?” to “Hmmmm…What do I want to do now?” It’s a pretty big distinction. I happen to have a skill set that is in demand and have come to realize that (within some defined parameters) I am in a position to choose my next role rather than letting it choose me. It’s a strange and interesting place to be.

Wish me luck and I’ll Keep you posted.

(And, oh yeah, Welcome to Bogart Week.)

Humphrey Bogart Quote of the Day:

Can you help a fellow American down on his luck?

– playing Fred C. Dobbs in Treasure of the Sierra Madre

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 3:34 pm

    “They are running a business and I get it.”
    Most people don’t feel the same when it happens to them.
    You’re a good man. my friend.
    Best of luck to you.

  2. October 20, 2011 9:38 am

    I would imagine it would be a great, but scary, position to be in. I already do what I love and can’t even fathom having to go out and find a new job. Great for you that you are in demand…..and in a place in your life when you can be demanding! Good Luck!

  3. October 20, 2011 6:31 am

    Best of luck in finding a great job at a great company!

  4. Patti permalink
    October 19, 2011 9:43 pm

    You could always try out for Top Chef.

    • October 19, 2011 11:07 pm

      That wasn’t really the skill set I was talking about, but maybe I should think a little outside the box. Find a tech company that needs a SQL Server Developer AND a chef.

      • Patti permalink
        October 20, 2011 11:10 pm

        Now you’re cook’n! You could start Lobster Monday…or Truffle Tuesday…or some other Damn Good Food Friday…the possibilities are endless!

Leave a Reply

