Skip to content

Beans and Rice

October 16, 2011

Tonight for dinner we had tacos where the role of meat was played by Damn Good Spicy Black Beans. I had everything I needed to make the Spicy Black Beans, but I had to pick up a couple more items to turn them into tacos, namely, cheese and sour cream. As I was putting together my shopping list I discovered I also had everything I needed to make some salsa verde (except for a jalapeño). We had lucked into some fresh tomatillos and garlic from one of our friends. Once I returned home with the jalapeno I decided to use some of our homegrown tomatoes for a salsa roja as well. I made them both to put on the tacos, but after I had two bowls of salsa I wanted to have some chips. A $4 bag of chips doesn’t really fit into the program this week so instead I bought a $1 pack of corn tortillas and turned them into delicious baked corn chips. I’m not sure I can go back to store-bought chips after having  warm tortilla chips straight from the oven. Yum.

It was a great snack to have after smelling the black beans cook for two hours. It gave me the energy I needed to remember that I still had some Spanish rice to cook. I put the rice together and got it simmering on the stove. The rice took almost twice as long as I was expecting so by the time I sat down for dinner I was hungry again. Not that I needed to be hungry to enjoy these delicious beans and rice.

Weekly Grocery Total so far: $29.86

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2011 8:42 am

    This looks awesome! Great experiment you’ve embarked upon, my foodie friend!

  2. Patti permalink
    October 17, 2011 1:07 pm

    And to think all I ate yesterday was jello and Gaterade…so much for sauce that will cause you to swoon….ask Kira about that one!

Leave a Reply

