Skip to content

It’s Such a Comfort

October 10, 2011

You know what I love about cooking?

I love that after a day when nothing is sure, and when I say “nothing” I mean nothing, you can come home and absolutely know that if you add egg yolks to chocolate and sugar and milk, it will get thick.

– Julie Powell in Julia and Julia

My good friend Lawrence set out to disprove this theory and he did a good job of it. He might have been doing it wrong. As for me those words ring very true and I’m not going to try to say it any better.

Julia and Julie Recipe #1: Nora Ephron’s Chocolate Cream Pie (they used her recipe for the pie they make in the movie)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 10:22 pm

    There is suffering in life. Suffering is caused by desire for chocolate cake. There is a way to end suffering. The way is to eat more chocolate cake.

    It’s not exactly dharma, but it’s still a noble truth.

    Be well.

    • October 11, 2011 10:34 pm

      Noble indeed my friend.

    • October 11, 2011 10:45 pm

      Ding!Ding!Ding!

      Congratulations Yasha!!!! You have left the 1000th comment on my blog. For this you win the very honorable bragging rights and your choice of a Hell’s Kitchen T-Shirt or a jar of their world famous peanut butter.

  2. October 11, 2011 12:43 pm

    That is my favorite type of pie! It looks amazingly delicious…

Leave a Reply

