Skip to content

Mitch, I know what we’re going to blog today!

September 28, 2011

Darn Good Phineas and Ferb Quote of the Day:

Phineas: All right, who added the ‘evil’ flavour?

Baljeet: It’s curry. It’s not inherently evil.

Review of My Own Amalgam of a Butter Chicken Recipe.

Time for another installment in the Butter Chicken Battle. It is mostly a take on the recipe I found at This Week for Dinner combined with grilled tandoori chicken instead of baked.

Part I: The Cooking

Other than needing to remember about marinating the chicken ahead of time there wasn’t much stress involved with this recipe. I’d made the same thing last month and knew that the step of blending in a food processor makes for some reasonably quick prep. I forgot to put the rice on before I started so I pulled in my sous chef Melanie to be an extra pair of hands. I chose today to make this meal because I was home from work, but I think that as long as the Chicken is cooked ahead of time I can make this version in about 25-30 minutes.

Beer I drank while cooking:

Kira saw I was cooking Indian food without a beer and decided to fix that problem she ran out and grabbed me some Kirin Ichiban which went very well with the curry.

Part II: The Eating

The chicken came out tasting just as wonderful as the last time I grilled it  and it was much more satisfying than the baked chicken. The sauce, while good, wasn’t quite as lip smacking as last month. I did almost double the spices between this version and the previous one, but it wasn’t too flavorful it almost seemed blander. I can’t explain it.

Verdict:

Middle on spiciness. OK on flavor. “Meh.” on Moti comparison.

Things I learned while making this:

A really cool trick to peel the garlic with two bowls. I wish I’d known this 287 days ago.

Recipe

Ingredients

(no need to carefully chop these ingredients, you’re going to blend them eventually)
– 1/3 sweet onion, chopped
– 1 1/2 tsp Ginger Puree
– 1 T Crushed Garlic
– 1 green chili (membranes and seeds removed), chopped
– 2 T butter
– 4 T butter , melted
– 6 medium juicy tomatoes, cut into large pieces
– 1 T garam masala
– 2 tsp chili powder
– 1 tsp. cumin
– 1 tsp. cardamom
– 1/2 tsp. coriander
– 2 shakes cinnamon
– 1 T fenugreek  (I’m still playing with this. I tried 1 tsp this time, but I’ll probably go more next time.)
– 3 oz tomato paste
– 1 cup chicken or veggie broth
– 1/2 C cream
– 4 cooked tandoori chicken breasts (above) cut into chunks

Preparation

Saute onion, ginger, garlic and green chili in butter until onions are translucent.

Add tomatoes and let simmer for ~5 minutes. Add spices (garam masala, chili powder, cumin, cardamom, coriander, cinnamon) and simmer another 5-10 minutes or so. Add tomato paste and broth, stir. Blend everything in a food processor until smooth then return to pan. Add tandoori chicken, cream and butter.

Butter Chicken Battle 

Previous Next

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2011 2:22 pm

    Awesome quote! Your tastes are truly varied!

  2. September 29, 2011 12:50 pm

    I’ll have to share this with my partner…..she does a lot more of the cooking LOL!!!

  3. September 29, 2011 7:53 am

    Great recipe.I often use garlics.

Trackbacks

  1. Tastes Like Butter Chicken « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

