Skip to content

Oh Canada

September 26, 2011

Once upon a time in the Great White North there came a time of darkness when there was no bacon in the land. A frown lived upon the face of all the people and they had nothing crispy to eat with their eggs or on top of an English Muffin smothered with Hollandaise sauce. So the Queen of this land declared that a round piece of ham should henceforth be called bacon in her northern kingdom. It wasn’t the same, but it was tasty in its own right and the people rejoiced.

And that is why we call it Canadian Bacon. I think.

My research team came back with a lot of stories and this one seemed the most plausible. How else could anyone confuse this stuff with real Bacon.

I wasn’t planning on including Bacon’s Canadian Step Cousin in my bacon week, but Mitch gave me a small tub of Hollandaise sauce when I stopped by Hell’s Kitchen the other day. I knew I couldn’t let this bounty go to waste and I felt like making the traditional Eggs Benedict. Allow me to say that if you don’t have to make the Hollandaise Sauce, Eggs Benedict is a really easy meal to cook. That Canadian stuff is precooked and I can pretty much poach eggs in my sleep these days. Total cooking time was aboot 10 minutes. And it was delicious.

Damn Good Not So Interesting Fact: In Canada they call it Back Bacon or Peameal Bacon, eh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 12:13 pm

    What a silly queen!

  2. September 29, 2011 2:24 pm

    Canada rules, right?

  3. September 28, 2011 7:02 pm

    I can’t believe we had near-simultaneous Bacon Weeks! How funny!

    On another note: I LOVE Hell’s Kitchen. Best brunch ever. My personal favorite is the bison eggs benedict. YUM. By the way, can you tell I’m really jealous you live in the TC?

    • September 28, 2011 8:51 pm

      I saw your class listed at the Loft and thought you were local, but I see now that it is an online class. The Bison Benedict is one of the easier meals to make. Most mainstream grocery stores carry bison steaks these days at least in the cities. You can cheat and make the Hollandaise from a mix or with your food processor.

  4. Dad permalink
    September 27, 2011 7:15 am

    Plain Eggs Benedict–seems very pedestrian after almost a year of exotica!

Leave a Reply

