Skip to content

Coffee and Brown Sugar Bacon

September 25, 2011

I went into Bacon week knowing that there would be one problem to overcome.

How do you make bacon better?

Thanks to a recipe I stumbled upon at MyRecipes I now know the answer, Coffee and Brown Sugar Bacon. It was a great find and it reminded of a question I have asked myself many times during this project.

How did people cook before the internet?

That is enough internal pondering for one blog post so on with the bacon. This recipe called for me to mix brown sugar together with a little bit of coffee and create a sort of coffee molasses. I then brushed on this tasty paste before baking the bacon. Flip after fifteen minutes and then apply more Coffeelasses. Finish baking and then serve hot. The first bite I took of this while it was still piping hot was nirvana. The mixture of bitter coffee, savory bacon and brown sugar…mmmm…

This is essentially a recipe for Candied Bacon, which I am not saying is bad thing at all, but I wouldn’t serve it with Pancakes or anything that requires syrup. I served it with a modest side of hash browns and scrambled eggs with lobster.

I am going to surprise a lot of people by saying that this recipe is in my bottom ten for the Mike/Mitch project. Don’t get me wrong, it was good, but it just didn’t make my mouth water like most of the recipes. The eggs by themselves didn’t have too much flavor. When the salmon roe was added it gave it a nice salty tang, but you couldn’t taste the lobster. I think part of the problem might be the combination of two things that don’t really need to be any better. Scrambled eggs cooked the Damn Good Food way are light and fluffy and taste delicious with just a dash of salt and pepper. And lobster is, well, lobster. Maybe it was overshadowed by the bacon. Which makes sense because bacon is sort of the Chuck Norris of the food world. It overshadows everything.

Recipe # 144: Scrambled Eggs with Lobster – Lobster and eggs provided by Hell’s Kitchen 

Damn Good retort from teenage daughter:

Me: You realize I’m mocking you, right?

Teenager: Well you aren’t doing it very well because you made it sound awesome.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2011 12:40 am

    the bacon sounds fabulous, but I love Mel’s retort!

  2. September 30, 2011 11:48 am

    Hmmm…as I sit eating my lunch, I ponder how bacon would taste on a PBJ?

    • September 30, 2011 12:04 pm

      I used to go to a restaurant called PBLoco. Their whole gimmick was gourmet Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwiches. They had a PB and Bacon sandwich that was delicious.

  3. Janet Koplos permalink
    September 26, 2011 8:48 pm

    One way to make “bacon” better–if you think of prosciutto as a form of bacon–is to wrap it around a juicy sweet piece of cantaloupe. The salt and fat of the prosciutto play off the syrupy mellow melon lightly but excellently. That was our appetizer last night. In honor or your bacon week, sort of!

  4. September 26, 2011 7:51 pm

    lobster doesn’t have a lot of flavor. you have to eat it at a little shacky place on the beach in maine with a screen door slamming and an oilcloth on the table and the ocean slapping on the sand outside. then it’s pretty good. if you use a lot of butter.

    but the bacon! oh that sounds good.

  5. September 26, 2011 4:43 pm

    Pretty odd – but cool nonetheless!

  6. Patti permalink
    September 26, 2011 3:59 pm

    Yeah, and you would probably eat the chocolate covered bacon at the fair too wouldn’t you? Do you have a cardiologist on hold during bacon week?

  7. minnesotatransplant permalink
    September 26, 2011 12:44 pm

    Lobster has never impressed me. It never lives up to the price (or hype). But candied bacon. Hmmmmm…. Just what I need: Another reason to indulge in bacon.

    • September 26, 2011 12:50 pm

      I’m not ready to give up on lobster just yet. I’ve had some that was melt in your mouth delicious. There is one more lobster recipe coming up and I am hoping it turns out.

  8. September 25, 2011 11:43 pm

    Brown sugar bacon sounds absolutely delicious!! Bacon anything is awesome lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

