Skip to content

Max’s Melted Mana

September 13, 2011

Before my dad has a chance to say anything – Yes, this is another post featuring ice cream. I am not to blame. Really. When I ask my kids what they want to do they somehow always bring it back to frozen treats. (Right after they say, “Gee Brain, I don’t know, what do you want to do tonight.”)

No Cub Scouts tonight so after eating our Man Meal of T-bone steaks, waffle fries, and wedge salads we headed over to our local comic book store. Max and I wandered the store for a bit and took our time choosing some comics to bring back and read while we consumed our dessert. Max is partial to Spiderman, but his choices are limited because I only let him get the ones marked A (Appropriate for age 9 and up). It pleased me when he filtered himself this time because we have had showdowns on this point before. I like the fact that as he gets old enough to accept my limiting his choices, he shows he is getting closer to an age where he can have more choices.  We both found three or four comics and headed home. Man, were they good.

For dessert we made some awesome banana splits. The banana split seems to be Max’s new dessert of choice (if allowed). I haven’t had one in sometime as I tend to go for a malt or a single scoop of one flavor. I forgot how good the mixture of ice cream and banana can be. We went all out. I bought a half gallon of Neapolitan Ice Cream. I made some Damn Good Vanilla Whipped Cream from scratch. We put on caramel sauce, chocolate sauce and ,per Max’s suggestion, we poured on some juice from our jar of Maraschino cherries.

Max’s Damn Good Observation of the Day: The best part about banana splits is that at the end you have a cesspool of melted ice cream and chocolate syrup.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. thegreenhermione permalink
    September 16, 2011 12:26 am

    Did Max really use the word “cesspool?”

  2. September 15, 2011 12:29 pm

    Ice cream rocks! You could structure a blog around it.

  3. Janet Koplos permalink
    September 14, 2011 3:21 pm

    Who’s doing the dishes?

  4. Dad permalink
    September 14, 2011 7:38 am

    Forget the ice cream–buried in the lead of the story was the fact that your job pays you well enough to afford steak!

    • September 14, 2011 8:54 am

      Why do you think I waited until it was just me and Max?

  5. Patti permalink
    September 13, 2011 10:18 pm

    I like how you feed your kids…just letting you know…I’m adoptable!

Leave a Reply

