Skip to content

Mike’s Movie Memories

September 11, 2011

I have this great memory of getting my mother in trouble at the breakfast table. She let me stay up late the night before to watch Yankee Doodle Dandy, starring James Cagney. It’s a long movie and I think I was up until midnight watching it. My mom gave me a wink and a nod and told me not to let Dad know I had stayed up so late. The next morning I was humming “Over There” at the breakfast table and the jig was up.

When Kira goes out of town I like to indoctrinate educate my kids on the great movies of the 1980’s. Being able to stay up later Melanie has gotten the brunt if it, but for some I have pulled in the whole family. Tonight we watched the Journey of Natty Gann, which I remember seeing in the theater. I was rewarded later in the evening by Melanie saying that the movie was pretty good. Max on the other hand could barely sit still during the entire thing. I thought the wolf would hold his attention. Maybe if I had told him that Natty Gann (Meredith Salenger) now voices a  character on Star Wars:The Clone Wars he might have been more interested? This weekend we have also watched Xanadu and My Cousin Vinny. Did anyone else remember that Gene Kelly had a major role in Xanadu? I sure didn’t.

So this is a lot of set up for my original blog post idea, but here it goes:

Top 10 1980’s movies I have made my kids watch with me*:

10. Short Circuit – Johnny 5 is alive! (They actually all enjoyed this one. Go figure.)

9. War Games – Shall We Play a game? All I had to do for this movie was explain what the Cold War is, what a modem is for, and why computer screens were green.

8. Krull – I think this movie was on HBO the month we signed up. I must have watched it 50 times. I even made Kira sit through this one.

7. The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the 8th Dimension. – I think it is fair to say they didn’t get it, but at least they got the reference when Phineas and Ferb released their movie this summer (Phineas and Ferb : Across the 2nd Dimension)

6. Last Starfighter – Greetings, Starfighter. You have been recruited by the Star League to defend the frontier against Xur and the Ko-Dan armada.  

5. Aliens – I was really pleased that Melanie had some context for her beloved Starkid’s youtube moive, Starship.

4. Terminator – I’ll Be Back.

3. Poltergeist. – They’re Here!

2. Time Bandits – I have to admit I’m not sure this one held up.

And the Number One 1980’s Movie I made my kids watch with me

1.Goonie’s – Once a Goonie, Always a Goonie.

*Disclaimer: Top 10 is a bit of a misnomer. These are actually just the first ten that came to mind that I though would be interesting. There is of course, ET, Back to the Future, Ghostbusters, StarWars, etc. But normal people make their kids watch those popular movies too, right?

Damn Good expression of how I feel today : I don’t need the 24 hour news cycle to help me remember the date, but I mostly agree with what they are trying to say.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2011 12:35 pm

    Time Bandits? Boy, that brings back some weird childhod memories!
    Great post!

  2. September 14, 2011 9:59 am

    War Games is my favorite on the list, but I’ve only seen 7 of the 10 you listed.

    • September 14, 2011 10:12 am

      Which three are you missing? How did you make it through the 80’s without seeing all of them. I’ll give you that Krull is pure schlock, but the others are all required viewing.

  3. Dad permalink
    September 12, 2011 7:29 am

    Quite a few ancient memories in your top ten list. Krull was a family outing to Lawton, Ok. Aliens was in the middle of a driving lesson in Monterey, Ca — remember?

    • September 12, 2011 9:08 am

      I definitely remember Aliens. I only remember watching Krull on HBO though.

Leave a Reply

